Monet Revisted for the Steemit Art Centre - One of my Favourite Impressionist Painters

in #artstorm6 years ago (edited)

Water Lilies by Monet

Image source: Pinterest

People who know me probably remember my series on my favourite painters that I posted way back in the day. One of them is Claude Monet.

The image above is fantastic to my eye! I love the colours and the brush strokes that add depth layers to the work. The reflections, so difficult to paint, are wonderful.

Here are some more of the pieces of his work that I like best:

Cliff Walk at Pourville by Monet

Image source: Pinterest



The Luncheon by Monet

Image source: Claude Monet Paintings

Water Lilies and the Japanese Bridge by Monet

Image source: Daily Mail

When I was studying to be a teacher, I had to do an assignment about the value of copying work by renowned artists.

Here is my copy of the above detail:

Monet 3.jpg

I used powder paint on sugar paper as I had to learn how to use these resources.

Next I made another copy using chalk.

Monet 2.jpg

Finally, I painted this that you have seen before as I displayed it in the Steemit Art Centre Gallery to start it off:

I call it 'My Impression of an Impressionist' ;)

I hope you can see how much I enjoy Monet.

Why not visit the Steemit Art Centre? Here is a link:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/steemit-art-centre-tuesday-s-update-come-and-see-what-is-new

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Wow! I didn't know you could draw with chalk like that! Wonderful!

Thank you :) Yes, you can. You have to fix your completed picture with hairspray. Schools don't have massive budgets in my country so teachers think of cheap resources to use.

A couple of weeks ago one of my students used my pastel to draw this during a 9th Grade Music Theory class:
IMG_20180410_115952.jpg

She is studying to become a flutist. I told her not to hide her art but you know how shy some teenagers are. Entire class stared at her work for like 5 minutes.

By the way, your copy could stand on its own...

Beautiful, I can see how your student let her imagination run free on a natural theme. Was she listening to music in your class?

She was listening to my boring lecturing, haha.

Wow, I love all these copies that you did. Each one has it’s own beauty and life. I agree Monet was amazing! He painted with such depth, just wonder truly how many colors he put into one painting. I would have loved to have witnessed this master at work, and the colors he had on his art palette 🎨 wouldn’t you Dee? Did you ever watch “Bob Ross” paint scenery? Learned a lot from watching him on T.V when I was a kid, he had his own show. Thank you for sharing this, bless you❣️

We have a show called, 'The Big Painting Challenge', where you see how artists paint. I love watching that :) Bob Ross sounds good :) We had the disgraced Rolph Harris on TV. I used to like watching him paint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67491.07
ETH 3345.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72