Art Mix-up Contest

winterwitch.jpg
I wasn't sure if I was going to get a submission in for this week, but then I randomly got super inspired! This piece is a mix of photography, digital art, and traditional art. I came across a game called Year Walk and was totally entranced by the art so this piece is heavily inspired by that.
Actually since discovering this game I have been thinking of writing a story. I haven't even played it just read the wiki, but it's a darker themed game based on I think it was Scandinavian folklore. Folklore keeps popping up for me, so I think I will take it as a hint and start working more in that area.

Here is a bit about my process.
First I drew images with pencil and colored with pencil crayon.

pencilcrayontrees.jpg
IMG_20180318_0001.jpg

Then I scanned them and colored it in more on another layer to keep all the texture of the drawing.

snowytrees.jpg

When working on the woman is where I added the photo elements for the eyes and the mouth and then digitally painted the skin more to make it blend better.
winterwitch.jpg

This was the second time I have tried this technique. You can check out my first image like this here:
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@wildempress/art-explosion-week-29-awakening-entry

In general I am loving mixing up mediums...but the downside is that sometimes I feel like traditional artists don't respect the work because it's cheating by using images. And Photographers don't necessarily respect it because its not technically a photo. So it can get kind of lost between worlds. That's why I love this contest so much, it is really highlighting the fact that multiple mediums and styles are still valid forms of art!! Thank you so much @lilyraabe for doing this!!

vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

Well, you've earned a follower! :) It amazes me how people think it's "cheating" to use digital means for creating or completing a work of art when they clearly can do some things you just can't do traditionally. It's like if you hear some really complex drum beat that had to be multi-tracked or made with a drum machine and instead of appreciating it, people say it's "cheating" when no human being could physically do that on their own.

I hope you'll appreciate what ends up being realized on the canvas whether it's analog or digital, and be less affected by irrational attitudes about what can and can't be valid as art in that way. I did find the part about photographers being dismissive of it interesting in that I'd never heard that before, but of course your point was never to take a photo, so that is an equally needless way in which legitimate works are excluded in the minds of some.

I look forward to seeing more!

I think things are changing slowly and people are coming around to understanding that digitally altered art of any kind still takes skill. I was in a local photography group and the held weekly contests but you couldn’t edit your images... which my niche is composite so I couldn’t enter anything. I CAN take ‘regular’ photography it’s just not my interest... I ended up leaving that group. Also I’ve had ppl ask me online what app/filter I use...like as if my images are created via a Snapchat filter or something 🤣😂
Just a lot of not understanding what goes into things I guess.

Brilliant. And love the detailed wip process. Actually not red haired but that was me today. I ventured to the Wilderness looking for Spring but found Winter reigns still.

Here too! Spring is taking its time this year!!

Wow, I really love this--truly an incredible piece. Thank you for submitting! :)

This is gorgeous work! Discovered via @lilyraabe and glad I did :-) I love the 'organic' lines from pencil, but also love the punch digital colouring adds to artwork - great mix and it pays off! :-)

Thank you 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37