Art Explosion week 29: Awakening Entry

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

awakeningentryheader.jpg
I am jumping in to the contests here on steemit, and this is my second attempt at the art explosion weekly contests hosted by @juliakponsford.

I was feeling less than inspired for the last couple days, but after making my t-shirt design earlier I decided what I needed to do was make something totally different. Usually I work in photos...or I work in paint. Sometimes digital paint, but not lately. I saw a very small snippet of an artists process on instagram @lisa.falzon. She is amazing drop everything and go look at her work. She does some collage work in her digital paintings sometimes and it was just the coolest effect. She is a thousand times better at it than my sad attempt here, but it was fun to try something totally different and blend photos into digital painting.

The mouth, eyes and the clothing are all photographs. The clothing is photographs of fabric, but I masked the entire layer so that I could paint it back in with a textured brush, it makes it look so painterly, you probably can't even tell its a picture.
Here's some shots I took of the progress: Also haha I spelt explosion wrong...yeesh, I need to go to bed earlier, im just losing it today! 16F65E0D-0777-4D22-8E1F-C4109CDDEBED.jpeg187CBB7D-E4BF-41E7-98BE-4023CF8B5561.jpeg5D259749-91F5-403D-9446-7A4F706BAA08.jpegC07D7D1D-D696-4A99-A2C0-2D00C0E5D26F.jpeg

And the final reveal!!

awakening.jpg

Sort:  

I love her hair!! I think you did pretty awesome!!

I was inspired by the silver wig I used in my last photoshoot...I just can’t get over my new wig, I’m such a nerd!

Nice! Fyi i invited you to checkout #teamgirlpowa

just curious what kind of stuff would i tag with #teamgirlpowa anything cause I'm a girl?

Very cool I really like how your collage technique turned out!

Thank you, it was interesting I will probably try it in a few more future projects 😊

I love The expression and the hair raising up. Kinda reminds me of going Super Saiyin in a way. So cool that you used mixed media. The colours and textures all come together really well. Great job!

Thank you, I work a lot with symbolism, hair in general represents thoughts, knowledge, power etc...the condition and state of the hair related to this theme, silvery/ white hair for wisdom and purity of the thoughts, the floating state of the hair is to demonstrate the lightness/freeing attributes of awakening 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65236.24
ETH 3401.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19