You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Mix-up Contest

in #artmixupcontest6 years ago (edited)

Well, you've earned a follower! :) It amazes me how people think it's "cheating" to use digital means for creating or completing a work of art when they clearly can do some things you just can't do traditionally. It's like if you hear some really complex drum beat that had to be multi-tracked or made with a drum machine and instead of appreciating it, people say it's "cheating" when no human being could physically do that on their own.

I hope you'll appreciate what ends up being realized on the canvas whether it's analog or digital, and be less affected by irrational attitudes about what can and can't be valid as art in that way. I did find the part about photographers being dismissive of it interesting in that I'd never heard that before, but of course your point was never to take a photo, so that is an equally needless way in which legitimate works are excluded in the minds of some.

I look forward to seeing more!

Sort:  

I think things are changing slowly and people are coming around to understanding that digitally altered art of any kind still takes skill. I was in a local photography group and the held weekly contests but you couldn’t edit your images... which my niche is composite so I couldn’t enter anything. I CAN take ‘regular’ photography it’s just not my interest... I ended up leaving that group. Also I’ve had ppl ask me online what app/filter I use...like as if my images are created via a Snapchat filter or something 🤣😂
Just a lot of not understanding what goes into things I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36