[CR] WILLIAM'S WINTER

in #artisteem6 years ago (edited)

P1010648ps-100dpi-1600-web.jpg

Artwork Image
49f-small.png

WILLIAM'S WINTER - A TALE FROM THE PRAIRIE


graphite drawing on paper, 2014
42 x 29.5 cm

This image was inspired by the Western Canadian landscape - I lived on the prairie for over 40 years. Here I am invoking the spirit of William Kurelek - a Canadian artist who, like Peter Brueghel, was a master at depicting the seasons. Of course I am also familiar with Brueghel's work which is to be seen in my home city of Vienna at the Kunsthistorische Museum.


Williams Winter on my website
if you happen to be also on Facebook, I appreciate if you left a comment on that page
(I added a Facebook plug-in).

You can also find it on my deviantArt page
where you can purchase prints.



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg



1900788_10152341248401477_1109107304_o-500sm.jpg


with my friend Caroline Schell

About my Work

Sort:  

I like this visual style for the surreal factor. There's a lot of things going on here. It just reminds of my the non-Euclidean geometry prevalent in how the Cthulhu mythos is built. I thought it was rendered digitally.

Thanks - you are right on with Lovecraft - I even created a piece specifically about the Cthulhu mythos: https://www.artofthemystic.com/cthulhu-monuments.html - and I had posted it on Steemit over a year ago https://steemit.com/art/@thermoplastic/cthulhu-monuments - and these 2 works are 34 years apart (1980 - 2014).
I am also doing digital work, but this one is strictly graphite - its just I have a big bag of tricks I acquired over the years.

I see you had @nyarlathotep commenting on that thread. Minds with the same interest will eventually find each other in this platform.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Mystic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

very much appreciated!

Just for the fun of it - when people ask me how long it takes for my drawing ........
Charlie Brown Good Art.JPG ◄ click to Zoom

Seen this before, and loved it then.... and I LOVE IT STILL <3 Such a strange, surreal, and beautiful work, Otto <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55