🐙 CTHULHU MONUMENTS

in #art6 years ago (edited)

CTHULHU MONUMENTS

Cthulhu-cropped-web.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen for all the details!
use the return arrow in your browser to go back to this blog

Graphite drawing on paper - 1980 - 18 x 24 inches - 46 x 61 cm.


Otto Rapp
Otto Rapp selfie - detail of Cthulhu Monuments

🐙


This drawing was inspired by the writings of H.P. Lovecraft, particularly the Cthulhu Mythos, but I did not intend to follow the long line of illustrations one normally finds under that subject. This is more what my minds eye saw reading about Cthulhu, but also "The Doom That Came to Sarnath".

◄ and lastly, I put myself in the picture - that's what I looked like in 1980


find more of my art like this on my website DRAWINGS
Prints are available at Pixels.com- CTHULHU MONUMENTS


Sort:  

wow, I can feel that space! amazing piece!

thank you - glad you like it

Excellent. That is what the Mythos is all about visually, images that defy logic and geometry, intersections of higher dimensions. Your Fomori series is reminiscent of Cthulhu, but it's a nice surprise to see you drawing the Cthulhu Mythos explicitly.

thanks - it was a long time ago I drew this, and you are spot on!

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05