[CR] Turkey Point ~ Painting from Inspiration

in #artisteem6 years ago (edited)

Artwork Image

Original Full Blog Post Found Here:

Steemit Link:

https://steemit.com/steemartists/@bdmillergallery/turkey-point-painting-from-inspiration-to-completion

I originally posted this piece several days ago. I wanted to share it once more ..

I Was Inspired To Paint This Piece ..

after seeing a few posted pictures from a friend of mine, Ron. Ron and his family were enjoying a beautiful day on the Egg Island Glades Padding Trails at Turkey Point Rd. in New Jersey. Unknowing to him I was immediately inspired by a few of the photos. Right away I am formulating an idea for a new painting, and I was almost certain that I would be calling it 'Turkey Point'.

As I Have Stated In Previous Blog Posts ..

I do not like to copy an image to the canvas..or coarse paper in this case. I much rather enjoy taking an idea, hints, colors, and bits and pieces for my inspiration. I like to let the painting evolve and go where it wants to. I feel if I were try to duplicate an image, I may be disappointed in the finished product. I'm not opposed to it, just rather not do it right now.

My Inspiration Was Gathered From ..

My gathered inspiration from my friend Ron's Facebook Post.. Thanks Ron!!

A Little Bit About My Inspiration ..

Why reinvent the wheel here. I gathered this little clip below from visitnj.org's website https://www.visitnj.org/nj-parks-forests-nature/turkey-point-natural-viewing-area ..
Egg Island Wildlife Management Area / Turkey Point Natural Viewing Area is a vast, windswept salt marsh that's dotted with hummocks of cedar trees, bayberry bushes, sumac and common reeds. Numerous tidal creeks await the explorer, crabber and angler. There is a large pond in the middle of the tract, which wintering waterfowl find attractive. A foot bridge and observation platform connect the parking area and walking trails in the marsh. Watch for marsh wrens, seaside sparrows, northern harriers, gulls, egrets and herons. In midsummer, be prepared for biting deer flies and green-head flies. The area offers excellent birding. Summer brings herons and egrets, glossy lbis, willet and clapper rail. Fall and spring bring waterfowl and shorebirds and winter brings snow geese, bald eagles and rough-legged hawks.

This natural wetland area, located at the very south and west side of New Jersey (near the Delaware Bay), falls within the county I currently live in .. Cumberland County. There are so many beautiful areas within driving distance from where I live. So much inspiration at my fingertips. Too much really.

So Lets Dive Right Into The Process ..

I combined them to make it a bit easier to follow. There is just something about the marsh areas that lie just inland of the bay or sea, that move me to paint. Yes, I will admit that they may be a bit stinky come summer, due to the plethora of decaying organic matter, but peaceful non the less. As I always do, I start by choosing my surface, in this case paper. This particular painting will measure 11 inches by 7 inches. I then decide where I want the horizon line to lie. I chose to place it lower on the paper to give the perspective that I am standing farther away from this scene. A little bit at a time I work on each element and each layer. Starting from the sky I work my way downward. I work my way from the back to the front. After all of the layers start coming together and reflecting what was once in my head, I am able to apply the finishing touches. After that there is nothing left to do but add my signature and seal the painting for protection.

As For Sealing The Painting ..

I usually go for a gloss or matt finish. I prefer Grumbacher or Windsor Newton aerosol spray due to the ease of application. I do this outside on a day that's not windy and try to keep the small gnats and dust off of it before it dries..sometimes a challenge. I am open to any advise when it comes to sealing paintings. Is there a better way? Please let me know. I notice that the sealer will often enhance the colors after it is applied. I don't mind these slight changes.

I Really Had Fun ..

painting this. I never get exhausted painting these marsh scenes. I want to get started on another, possibly a sunset over the marsh scene.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

This painting [eventually once I upload it] along with other works can be found for sale in my Facebook Shop: https://www.facebook.com/pg/BDMillerGallery/shop

OR

Make me an offer (in SBD) in the comments section of this post.

If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

I appreciate you swinging by my blog!

Sort:  

[ ARTISTEEM COORDINATOR ]

Hello @bdmillergallery, thanks for participating in the contest and be part of the artisteem artist community.

Speaking of his work, it's great, he just needed to add the tag [CR] before the title of his publication to be taken into account to receive a vote from @artisteem.

I invite you to read the official guides of the artisteem community publication:

Artisteem Posting Guidelines · Guide for CO, CR, and CU


You want to learn more about Artisteem ?
Follow @artisteem to be informed about new contests. Visit our website to discover the artworks from the community. Or just join our Discord server to chat with other users and get help from the team.

Thank You for this link. I will eventually understand. Patience is what I need. ;-)

Don't worry, we are here to help you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Very lovely painting, @bdmillergallery ! I really love the sky and the clouds on this one :)... and also the grass, and the water's surface........

...

.......... so yeah, I guess I love everything XD

Very wonderful <3

Water is always tough for me. I like the challenge though. Thank you for the compliments @veryspider

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hello @bdmillergallery, excellent art piece you did there, I'm adding it to artisteem's curation list for today 🎉🎉🎉
Congrats!! 🎨✌️😎
From artisteem - curation team

Thank you @melooo182! I appreciate the support

:-)

Happy Happy!

🎉 Congratulations @bdmillergallery! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32