Drawing with a Twist #2 | THE REFUSAL OF THE SAMURAI 🐉

in #artguildph7 years ago

Said the Emperor to the Samurai: "I will give you back ten times what you lost in that fire, if you will but give me that dragon."

But at hearing these words, the Samurai took hold of the hilt of his sword and cried...

"NO! Not for all the gold in Japan, nor for the seat of the Emperor himself will I part with this dragon!"


The Refusal of the Samurai.png


This is my entry in support of @jacinta.sevilla's 2nd Drawing with a Twist Contest. For this challenge, we were tasked to draw a samurai with a small dragon in his hands or shoulders.

The short scene at the top of this post was a story I was thinking of while drawing this. It's in connection to the story Jacinta shares in the Contest Post. I recommend checking it out!

The story is about decorated retired Samurai who lost his house, wife and child to a fire. Out of the ashes of his loved ones was born a small dragon which was coveted by the Emperor.

Concept

Trying to think of a scene for this nearly drove me nuts. Hahaha. I did more than 4 different drawings, some sketches, some nearly completed. Here are a few examples:

Samurai Prototypes.jpg

Top left nearly made it but it was taking so long to decide on the colors and it was looking more and more blah with every minute I spent coloring it so I trashed the colored version.

I finally decided on doing black and white with a little red to reflect a more Asian vibe.

Process banner.png

The Refusal of the Samurai was drawn using ArtRage Lite Software. I used the ink pen and watercolor brush. For a detailed explanation of my digital painting process, you can check out a recent post of mine, "Hana."


I did not erase the rough sketch lines because the painting looked better with it.

I put together a process montage for you guys.

Samurai Process.gif

There's still lots of time to submit an entry and you can check out this contest by clicking --> HERE.

Thanks for viewing my dragon art!

giphy.gif
src

OneHeart Border.jpg

See you next time,

NoelleArtSig.png


Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

Love the colors and the smooth flow of the strokes.
Rad.
Thanks!! :)

Nice work!! 👏👏

¡Demasiado genial!

Thank you / Gracias! hehe

I really was craving for some drawing action these past few days! And this is just what I needed, thanks for inspiring man :)

-check me out @felixsteemit-

Thank you 😊

SUPEEER! MUY BUENA

Congratulations @noellesevilla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Fantastic. This is a beautiful representation of the theme. Hope you win this contest.

Thanks papa!!!

Thank youuu 😊 😊 It's nothing compared to your own art sir karlo.

please follow and vote back, because I am still a beginner. thank you
Bram17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39