An Incense Clock, A Rabbit Kimono, An Expectant Flower 花 🥀 | Digital Painting for Doodle Doodledayeo! | Plus Step-by-Step

in #doodleon7 years ago

Rabbit.png

HANA is waiting for someone. She is wearing her new usagi kimono. She has carefully arranged the cherry blossoms in her hair. Who is she waiting for? Whoever it is, they haven't come yet and the incense on the clock is burning low.


^

Hana: Flower

This is my official entry to @opheliafu's Doodle Doodledayeo Challenge. Draw a picture using the three words of the week: Rabbit, Time and Flowers.

The words evoke scenes from Alice in Wonderland in my mind. But I already drew Alice just last Doodledayeo so had another good think on something interesting to present.

The Character


Zen and Hikari
A Japanese woman in a blue kimono has been a recurring drawing my hands just spontaneously scribble. I drew Zen the Maiko first. Then Hikari. And now, Hana. Having first learned to draw anime before any other style, I guess it is just natural to me. The blue color looks relaxing.

Rabbit, Time, Clock

Hana means flower in Japanese. She also has cherry blossoms in her hair. She is wearing her usagi (rabbit) kimono. This is a common enough design for a kimono as it turns out.

The tricky element for me was "Time". At first I wanted to incorporate time into the kimono as well. I wasn't sure if wall clocks were a thing in Japan. Maybe a pocketwatch? Too obvious. So I did some research and found the perfect thing: an incense clock.

This is an ancient time-keeping method which found its way to Japan from China. The incense sticks were specially made so that the manufacturers knew the exact time it would burn out, hence helping them measure time.

I hope I depicted it correctly. The incense box is accurate, but I'm not sure how the incense looks burning in it.

*

Process

This is the final sketch of Hana. This painting was done with ArtRage Lite. I've recently gotten some new software but have yet to test it out.

I find ArtRage really simple and easy to use though. It has a lot of tools and is perfect for digital painting. Or whenever I want to make a quick doodle.

Here she is looking fresh and make-up free. This is her natural look. I was deciding if she should have her hair down, but since she is expecting someone, I got her ready, geisha-style.

Pencil Borderr.JPG

Sketching

One of my valuable learnings here on Steemit. I found a process where they used thin grey lines to create the roughest sketch before using the final black pen. In the past, I used the black pen directly, but for more serious drawings, I do this now. Put them in separate layers and then erase the grey lines after.

Sketch Process.jpg

Paint Border.JPG

Painting

Working with watercolors is about layering. I put 2 layers of blue for the kimono, brown for the box, and black for her hair. The blossoms are airbrushed.

I used the ink pen for the incense stick and the hair ornament opposite the flowers.

Watercolor Process.jpg

Detail and Background

On panel 1 I did the kimono design. Just a simple pattern; rabbits running around. On panel 2 I add shadows by a adding a third and final layer of darker values to the kimono, box, etc. Lastly, with the paint roller and some pen lines, I create a door behind her and the wood floor.

Kimono Process.jpg

There you go, doodle complete! I hope you guys enjoyed this and check out @opheliafu's amazing challenge.

All doodles and drawings are mine unless you find a credit or ^ beneath. Click to view the source. You can find Zen and Hikari drawings somewhere in my blog. Got questions about this post? Leave me a comment below and let's chat!

Now it's time for me to get my morning cup of coffee.


OneHeart Border.jpg

See you next time,

NoelleArtSig.png


Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

Why can not I think of designs like yours!? (╯°Д°)╯ ┻━┻ Please, give your imagination! I need it to be better.

The incense clock it was something unexpected and I love it!. I learned something new thanks to you :D. Great job!

Keep doodling! <3

Noooo! I am undeserving of such words from you!
┻━┻ ︵ヽ(`Д´)ノ︵ ┻━┻
I'm honored you like it @art-huntress! And I found the incense clock a surprising bit of history too.

Doodle on!

DOODLE ON! YEAAAH! ┻━┻ ︵ヽ(`Д´)ノ︵ ┻━┻ I love you @noellesevilla senpai!... Ok, it's time to calm down :D

Yes we've broken so many tables already. Hahahahahaha. Thank you so much @art-huntress! ♥

I hope her boyfriend comes on time. She looks very expectant and hopeful. Wouldn't want to disappoint her. Great post. Even greater storytelling.

Late sya kasi walang incense clock sa bahay nila. Hahaha. Thanks pa.

Wonderful drawing and very good instructions @noellesevilla.

Thank you!!! I try to include the process for every artwork I post, for those curious about how I made the painting. :)

Wow ate!!! Art is really in the blood of Sevilla 😍😍😍

Joy! Thank you for always supporting! I believe everyone is an artist, but it depends what medium they use. Writing is an art too and you do it so well! More power to you Joy. :D

Thank you po! Trying hard pako te heheh

This is just too beautiful, my eyes can't take it, I feel like I'm going blind by seeing so much perfection together! ( ꒪Д꒪)ノ Hahaha I'm just exaggerating, but indeed it's a really cute drawing (°ω° )

Thank you @lovesoldier! The flowers in her hair was gotten from your Sakura tree! Hehehe

Yay you were able to get all the words into your drawing.. the clock was a tricky one but you managed it..

Yes, I was worried I wouldn't be able to relate the time element. Thank you sis!

.excellent post!!
.my best friend is hana....I can't wait to show her this
.thanks for steeming👍

That is so sweet! Thank you for visiting and for the kind words. I hope Hana likes my drawing. <3 :)

great post. it really helps.

Thank you! I try to explain the process as best I can. :)

Wow! Excellent! We have the oriental art in common! If you like chinese or japanese painting and callygraphy check my blog. Upvote and resteem

Cool! I will definitely check your work! I love looking at Japanese art; that's probably why it reflects in my drawings. Thank you for the kind words and the resteem! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99