You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The only purpose of beauty is love

in #artexplosion7 years ago

I'm deeply moved by your painting, poem and the story behind them. I'm very often sad about the past, but at the same time very uplifted by the present and the future- there is something very reassuring and soothing in your insight about your family relationships. A promise of change, of progress, of a well used knowledge and consciousness. That's the impression I get from your kind words :) Hm, you know, recently I've been thinking a lot about my relationship with beauty. I've come to the conclusion, that I really attempt hard to live beautifully. It's a goal in itself for me, and I had only a vague knowledge of that before. I didn't notice earlier how much important beauty is to me on a daily basis. And by beauty I mean all the things not only pleasant to the eye, but also good and true ;P but my definition of beauty is vaaaast, so very often it's not so obvious... but I know I'm looking for it everywhere I look, go etc.
From now on I'm going to follow your blog much more closely, to not miss anything unique anymore!
Love,
Klaudia

Sort:  

Thank you for this lovely comment. It lends a new perspective to my own understanding of beauty and family - and I must admit you have a much more hopeful interpretation than I :-D
For me beauty is so conflicted. I want to believe in your idea, that beauty is goodness, inspiration, love, hope and compassion, and intellectually I can follow along, but so often my feelings tell me something different. Perhaps I learned (inherited) the idea especially women are only lovable if they conform the current beauty standards of being thin, abled-bodied, and young. I hate don't like myself for having this kind of thought, of judging (mostly my own) bodies. I must actively fight this for my very dominant "classic" beauty standards. The good thing is, while doing art I am much freer of these standards. For example, I tried to choose dancers for my productions, which don't conform to a classic beauty, but it is not easy, because trained dancers are always filtered by an education which shuns fat, dark, not-abled etc bodies. I believe that everyone can move beautifully, and all bodies can tell a fascinating story.
And the family.... I do not have children. One reason is, that I am afraid to continue the harmful relation between mother daughter. My mother is in many parts different from my grandmother, but some of the difficult patterns I also perceive between me and my mother, and I am totally unsure, that I would not reproduce them with my own child.
Sorry for this long and a little bit pessimistic (or to honest :-D) answer. As I wrote above, I really liked your interpretation and I hope there are more people out there who share your world view <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67