ART EXPLOSION WEEK 43: Theme MYTHOLOGY / ICARUS

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit).
Today I want to take part in one interesting contest.
The theme of the contest is «Mythology».
I decided to draw Icarus.
According to this ancient Greek myth, Daedalus, the father of Icarus, made wings like birds to fly back to his homeland. He taught his son to fly, explaining that it's dangerous to climb close to the sun. The wax that connected the feathers could melt, and then death was inevitable. But, yielding to extraordinary joy, the young man forgot about caution, flew to the sun, and the wax on his wings began to melt. The homemade device stopped holding Ikar's weight and he fell.


First I drew a background. I painted it with yellow, white, orange and red colors, depicting the glow of the sunset.



I added a cloud of haze to the sky, painted shadows with brown and gray shades, and the light areas – with white and light yellow.


With translucent lines painted Ikar's contours.



I painted the body of Icarus with body shades, paint his wings and attire with white.


With brown and gray shades drew shadows, showing the volume in the figure of Icarus.



With thin lines drew details on the face of the young man, emphasizing individual shadows.


With black color maximized the shadows on the figure of Icarus. With thin black lines I emphasized each feather on the wings, painted their texture.


At the final stage, I strengthened the detailing of the picture, made the shadows darker and intensified the light flare. I intensified the contrast of the picture. The edges of the background made darker. With a feathering I stretched out the sun's rays to the figure of Icarus. The drawing is ready.




Thank you for your attention! If you like my post – please, subscribe).

I apologize if you find mistakes in my text. Unfortunately, my English is not perfect.

Sort:  

I followed you.
please followback @huanmv

Your works are amazing! Icarus on this one looks especially good. I really love your style

Thank you!)

most welcome!! Wonderful work!!

Amazing Kleonella! yours skills are amazing! nice pic! ;)

Thank you!)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you!)

One of my favorite myths and this piece certainly does it justice. The overwhelming warm tones set the mood, and you can feel how Icarus is recoiling from the heat with the tension in his pose. Great choice to have the wings wrap up, around, and towards the sun.

Thank you!)

This is an awesome artwork and I really like the legend you told first. In this way everybody can understand what the drawing is about. Thank you for letting us enjoy your talent.

Thank you!)

This is such a beautiful piece of art @kleonella! And Icarus is one of my favorite mythology stories; such a great lesson too :) Thanks for sharing your process as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99