My Entry To ART EXPLOSION WEEK 61: Theme BIRDS

in #artexplosion5 years ago (edited)

The Early Flower Picker

An original rare art I designed for this contest

Hello Steemians,

This photo above is my official entry to @juliakponsford 's ART EXPLOSION WEEK 61: Theme BIRDS contest. To those who had been following and participating in my #namemecontest you already have an idea about my style of drawing. That is, I am using one kind of digital brush only. This I think gives the characters that I design that rare and folk art appeal.

The bird that I used as my inspiration for this entry would be a sparrow. I love their brown feathers and that little yellow color on their lips. I changed the color of the beak into something bright though to give it more emphasis. The character I made does not have a name yet, I know you know by now why :). I am planning to use the character later on for my Name Me Contest. The title of my art tells that this is a bird who works early in the morning to pick a bunch of tiny white flowers from the field. He will then take the flowers to a nearby local market where buyers will use them to make perfume. The bird is dressed in such a way to tell about the cold climate where he lives in. That is how roughly I would tell his background story.

Process:


I usually start my character design drawing with a few squiggles on my Sketchbook app. The mood and look of which will influence what kind of character I will create. I have not much of a plan except for this task it should look like a bird.

Before I go astray I made sure I got some feathers going on and something to look like a beak and bird's feet. At this stage I have to focus on the theme. Well so far I am liking the outcome.

On this stage I put my character into a set of work clothes because he is into picking flowers from a cold place. Thus he needs a bonnet, a trouser and a jacket. I think the clothes fit him well including the colors.

When the character is 80% done, time for me to design the background. This is what I thought of earlier. There must be a source of light similar to that of dawn.

I added some greens and soil plus the basket to further define the surroundings to support my idea that this character is a flower picker from the field. :) So far everything is working fine.

The drawing is 95 % done. This could have been the final look. BUT, I gave it some time and revised it a bit to further enhance the light and shade and lastly, changed the color of the beak to this bright tangerine.

Hope you like it.
@hedidylan

Sort:  

Very cool work so far. Good luck for the contest.

Hi thank you for your consistent support and encouragement I really am thankful 😄

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thank you so much luvbug


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for your support as this encourages me even more

Aahw, and what is this fella's name?
Good luck @hedidylan

Hi @nymia.aryn he has no name yet but he will be named soon

Congratulations @hedidylan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @hedidylan!

Hope you are having a nice day.

This is to remind you that the "Name Me Contest 8" has ended with 4 awesome entries.

The participants are eagerly waiting for the results, declare the winners now!.

You can also use the Android App to declare winners.

Cheers!
@the1ramp Team

I had made a post about the announcement of winners 13 days ago. I tried using 1ramp to declare the winners but the page won't load up did it several times and failed. I can't let the participants wait so I created the announcement using other platform. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29