my entry | ART EXPLOSION WEEK 28: Theme MELANCHOLY

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

7fcc4044-2dd3-48c7-b824-370075b3e770.jpeg


This is my entry for @Juliakponsford's weekly art contest. ART EXPLOSION WEEK 28: Theme MELANCHOLY. My medium is charcoal on wood, and as you may know, charcoal doesn't stay on wood... really the medium is also the subject, as I'm painting, she is seeing even deeper into me... we are sinking into each other...

Contest post: https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-28-theme-melancholy-25-steem-in-prizes-all-forms-of-art-welcome


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play

I also want to share this beautiful original song by a Steemit musician who I discovered on the @openMic. I felt like her song really complements the mood of my entry.

Please check her out.

If you wish to support this artist, here is the original post: https://steemit.com/openmic/@zipporah/steemit-open-mic-week-72-home-tonight-original-song

Sort:  

ooo love the sculpture look she seems carved in wood

thank you so much @alexandravart, both for your support here and the contest. <3

I love how the medium matches the theme- just as melancholy doesn't last, neither does charcoal on wood. Gorgeous parallels

Thank you @sanravelme, it wasnt an intentional metaphor, at first i was just experimenting... but in ther process it had occurred to me that this painting wont last. But luckily i did manage to capture it at its birth :)

fantastic drawing, you deserve a big upvote and follow

thank you @jacobkaled! i appreciate your comment

Her eyes are haunting, beautiful!

thank you @juliekponsford, its been a while, I'm so happy i finally managed to join another contest of yours.

wow so ... so so beautiful * __ * you really nail the theme fabulously <3 love this! LOVE!

upvotes and resteems

(^_^) thank you so much@veryspider <3

I didn't know that about charcoal and wood. So the art, like the feeling will eventually disappear. I like that.

yep it will fade out... unless you put some locking finish on it... the charcoal comes right off :P

hell yeah. Gorgeous. As ALWAYS

thank you Sir Basil, you always know how to channel good vibes with a few words :)

This is an incredible drawing! Such deep emotion in the artwork. How long did this piece take you?

thank you @stateothearts, It took me not too long, about an hour or two. I had no plan, just a bit of emotion. :)

Well we love the drawing! We run an art sharing initiative here on steemit, would love to see some more of your illustrations

thank you! please let me know what is it that you need?

https://steemit.com/art/@stateofthearts/state-of-the-arts-premier-art-sharing-on-steemit
Explains the curation trail and how to participate! Looking forward to future illustrations!!

Beautiful work, dense with emotion. You really defined what this challenge is.

thank you so much@twirble! (^_^)

Your art so amazing.... I love this... So amazing 💖💖💖💖💖💖

thank you so much @platonicform! you are amazing yourself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65