Drawing Girls (and other stuff) - A JournalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

17sTitleE.png
(this was one of my better drawings from 2011)

The background

As you may have noticed I am a very creating person. In my late teens I suddenly developed the urge to create stuff. Don't ask me why, I don't know myself, it just happened. And it hasn't stopped since. Photography, computer-graphics, programming and especially composing music and soundscapes/sounddesign are what I mostly did.

Anyway...
More than six years ago I decided I wanted to finally get better at drawing (I really sucked back then).
That's how I found the online tutorials from https://idrawgirls.com/
Funny name, but it got my attention as that was basically what I wanted to achive: being able to draw pretty girls. Haha. So I signed up for one course and began drawing.

I only continued drawing for a few months and drew less than one image per week.

Below I'll show you my progress, from terribly bad to mediocre.

I haven't drawn any images for about six years but plan to get back on track and draw at least two images per week.
That's the basic idea of this post.

I also got inspired by @rucoin. He has a very cool drawing journal. Definitly check him out.


Now let's start with my first attemps...

The Beginnings

02s.jpg
Oh wow, the guy in the image looks as depressed as I felt when I was done with my first face drawing attempt.

01s.jpg
When I had finished this one I thought it was pretty good. Well it was... for my standards. (obviously today I see I still sucked, lol)

04s.jpg
I programmed and designed a game back in the days. These were some design ideas for space-crafts.
You can see a live demo here: Havoc alpha 47

06s.jpg
I also liked trees a lot. Taking photos, rendering, climbing on them. It's quite a lot of effort to draw one, though.

03s.jpg
Inspired by M.C. Escher's Eye drawing, if you want to know what true talent is, definitly check it out.

07s.jpg
Just scribbling away with little thought as to what you draw is said to be a good excercise as well. Very basic again....

08s.jpg
Cute chick. Will probably focus on more interesting faces when I start drawing again, though. ;)
Also, I am pretty certain I drew her face much too wide.

09s.jpg
One of my favourite actors. Do you recognize him? Yeah his face is too slim. This was a "speed" drawing, I set a time limit to 20 minutes.

13s.jpg
A tiny study. No ruler or compass used of course.

The Not Too Bad Ones

12s.jpg
Yeah, half her face is missing... Anyway do you recognize her? I think this is actually one of my best drawings regarding realism.

14s.jpg
Unfortunatelly the other side had a drawing on it too and the paper shines through. I think this one isn't too bad actually.

15s.jpg
German actress. Yeah she doesn't look that strange in real life: Nora Tschirner

16s.jpg
Sad expression, just like in the original photo. What a cutie, though. ¯(°_')/¯

17s.jpg
The heading girl again. Nose and the part between mouth and nose look pretty okay this time.
Her right cheeck seems to be too wide, though.

That's it for now. I expect to have to start almost from scratch, but will try to post at least 2 drawings per week and hopefully finally get good at drawing.
If you want to embark on my journey, make sure to follow. : )

This a 100% power-up post!

Feedback appreciated.

follow me @werk ⊂(◉‿◉)つ

Sort:  

Amazing art.....@werk

Good job!!!,upvoted! ^ ^

ill be happy if you would check my work of drawing ^ ^
https://steemit.com/@cuteve

Thank you. Just took a look at the overview of your blog.
Insane! This is not on another level but in a whole other dimension. Will follow. :)

Thank you so much <3 <3

Upvoted by @parkshinnyung , upvoted community helps minnow steemit . explanation HERE !!!

Thank you!

Wow! such awesome sketches , great pencil work @globetrottergcc

nice one! Always remeber that practice makes perfect.

here's my drawing, i hope you like it:
https://steemit.com/art/@mikekenlytungal/owl-eye-or-drawn-by-pencil-color-pencil-and-mygel-ballpen-only-or-step-by-step

Cool steemit-owl! Yeah, I try to remember that when progress seems to plateau.

Progress is looking good so far. Keep it up!

Which progress? Haven't even started yet.

The progress in the pictures you posted.

Yeah but that was just my intro post with drawings from 2010/2011. I expect to start from almost zero again.
Anyway thank you.

Oh, well good luck then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30