Travel Pro Art #8: Display Exhibits of the Basilica Gothic Cathedral in Quito Ecuador! (12 photos)

in #art7 years ago

Hey there my steemit friends. I love history and culture. Here in Ecuador and South America in general the Catholic Religion has spread far and wide. Catholicism has deep historic roots in this part of the world and has had long lasting effects shaping the people and culture that we see in present day Latin America.

The Basicalica is a Gothic Cathedral built in the heart of the historic district in Quito, the Capital of Ecuador. This grand church towering over the city was built in the late 1800s. With lots of space to fill inside of this humongous place the conservators of the Basilica have lined the walls with religious artifacts, exhibits, and other displays.

As an experienced traveler I believe you don't have to be catholic or religious to appreciate the artistic works on display. Even if the religion is not of your own, I always have respect for the art and for those who value the ideas and beliefs of which exhibits like these represent. Now let's take a look at what is on display.

Not To be Missed!

Real Life Captured #49: Fresh Food Market Krabi Town Thailand! Part One (14 photos)

Travel Pro Places of Interest #1: Basilica Gothic Cathedral Quito Ecuador! Part One (21 photos)

Real Life Captured #48: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Two (15 photos)

Travel Pro Answers #2: @Chefsteve Asks: How Do you Avoid Food Born Illness When Traveling?

Travel Pro Super Foods #8: Star Fruit in Florida!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -0.214941 lat -78.507571 long d3scr

Sort:  

nice

Thank you for sharing great magnificent saints figurines that, as always, calm my soul :)

They calm me too :)

Even though the Basilica was just around the corner from my hostel, I did not make it in there when I visited Quito since I was there twice outside of their opening hours.. But well, at least your photos (especially from part one!) give a good impression of the basilica, seems like I need to make it there next time I am in Ecuador :)

By the way, are you active on any of the Steemit Discord channels by chance? @for91days (they do a fantastic travel blog!) have started a Discord channel for us travel bloggers and digital nomads here on Steemit, I thought you might want to join! https://discord.gg/jWWu73H

Thanks buddy. I just got on there and checked out 91 days' page.

Thanks for joining our Discord group! I am sure we will be able to grow it into a great plattform for us travel bloggers :)

good pictures :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-art-8-display-exhibits-of-the-basilica-gothic-cathedral-in-quito-ecuador-12-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

good work TP.

Looks like a really interesting place to visit :)

Wow very artistic @world-travel-pro ! I really love those Doors ! ✌👍👍👍💕😊

Thank you Karen. I really enjoyed my time there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48