"Luminous Savoy" - A Collaborative Art Journey with @everlove

in #art7 years ago

This could the next big thing... 'cabbage art'.  Hmmm.  


According to ancient whispers cabbages contain "moon power" which contributes to their many health benefits and healing properties.  It would seem there are plenty of gardeners who consider the phases of the moon when planning their crops... which I guess makes sense when you consider the significant effects the moon has on our planet.  For 'above ground' plants, moonlight aids leaf growth and such, and the lunar gravity of the new moon apparently causes planted seeds to swell and open quicker than during other phases.  I like the thought I could be absorbing "moon power" when I eat cabbage, and since I eat a LOT of cabbage I reckon I must be pretty powered up by now haha! 


My contribution to the 20th collaboration is this image "Luminous Savoy" (the first below) which was inspired by @everlove's original image entitled "Power Spirit" (the second below).



I love the colours and luminosity in @everlove's image, and it has a certain serenity that reminds me of my dreams.  It looks like scales or leaves or something frozen under ice (which I why I adore @opheliafu's piece here).  Since I am most well-know on Steemit for my food posts, I decided my image should be based somehow on something edible.  As I looked around the kitchen my eyes fell upon the savoy cabbage sitting in my veg rack... and I thought - perfect!  The rest kinda just happened without thought... for some reason I got a bowl of water, added blue colouring, and tore up pieces of cabbage leaves to float in the water.  For the luminous effect I put some blue and green fairy lights underneath the bowl which shone through the water.  I took a whole bunch of photos and then played around with an image editor, and these are the results!  It was a random and enjoyable way to spend a few hours.  I hope you enjoy viewing too!


  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  


I would like to thank @everlove for inviting me on this collaborative art journey, and also just for being her lovely lovely self!  She seems to have a gift for bringing people together and inspiring creativity, which adds something special to our Steemit community.  I know I'm not the only one who notices and appreciate this!


If you too would like to join in with your own offering, the invitation from @everlove is extended to all!  INVITATION: Collaborative Art Journey..." P  O W E R   S P I R I T " -- This is your invitation to Collaborate!  Whatever your expression, BRING IT ON!


Sort:  

very very good thinking!
cabbage art - love it!

:-) Thanks very much!

looks really cool!

I used to eat a lot of raw cabbage when I was little, it just tasted . . . good! Haha

Cabbage rocks... I love it both raw and cooked!

It's been a while since I had cabbage actually, I agree it is pretty good in pretty much any way!

Cabbage to the moon!! :O) Great interpretation!

Far out pictures of savoy. This is the type of cabbage I grow every year. IMG_0592.JPG

Yes!!! Another gardener and fellow food lover! So grateful to know you @garden-to-eat. Following you!

Following you too. I went all the way back and read your intro. Wow its really interesting to meet so many people totally detached from the grid. Sometimes I wish I was right there with you. Well at least I'm growing my own food for a few months out of the year.

Awe---thank you for tuning in. We would ideally be detached from the grid, though we are within the City limits and it's highly likely they would attempt to shut us down if we did not have City water and electricity. As you probably know, they've already attempted to squash our voice just for being who we are. I guess that goes to show we are really shaking some things up! Every little step each of us takes toward self-sufficiency and sustainable practices, the more empowered and less encumbered we become. I feel it is the wave of the future, as life as most people know it is not sustainable. Glad you are on the path @garden-to-eat. Thank you for your support.

I suppose you have already checked out @gardenofeden as well. We have some really juicy things to share.

No but I will. I'm new but have several gardening posts up already. Check them out if your into it. I'm just trying to share everything I've learned over the years so maybe more folks are encouraged in starting gardens or helping those who already have one. We may all need a garden some day soon.

Gardening is an art and such a fulfilling one at that. Sharing of information is important and posting here on Steemit about it creates very valuable content. One never does know when these skills will be needed!!!! Thank you for sharing @garden-to-eat.

Oooh they look fantastic @garden-to-eat! I am only just starting out with growing food, but perhaps in a few years I'll be able to claim green fingers too I hope!

Let me know if you have any questions and I'll try and answer.

Thanks very much for your offer... I surely will as time goes on and strange things start happening with the plants that I have no idea about!!! :-)

Don't forget to follow me. I have a few posts out and will be putting more out that may be helpful.

I thought I was!!! Glad you said that so I checked! Thanks :-)

I didn't see your handle in my list. Figured you just forgot. NP.

Check out my latest post on savoy cabbage woman-onthe-wing. Just picked some yesterday.

This was a really cool idea @woman-onthe-wing! Only you would think about using cabbage! I LOVE IT! Some of the images remind me of bodies of water or rivers with landmasses or mountains poking through--perhaps as seen from an airplane. Others look like little creatures coming up from the depths of the water kingdom. This was definitely an unusual approach and I think it's brilliant. Thanks for your contribution--we're so grateful to have you here.

I'm grateful to be welcomed and included... I think it's a wonderful project and I love seeing everybody's different expressions each time. Thanks for your enthusiasm about my first contribution! I too think some of the images look quite 'fantasy-ish'... I love that you can imagine creatures in their water kingdom, I totally agree! Tell you what - now savoy cabbage will always make me think of you!!!

Awe--now I have a special place in your kitchen too!!! SWEEEEEET! Right there with you, right now!


Love this idea- what an imaginative route to take! This is actually my favourite image of them all.

Thanks very much @opheliafu, and now I feel my relationship with cabbages will always be just a little bit different!

Hahaha, definitely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29