STEEMTOWN (V.2) : A Community Art Experiment in City-MakingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

STEEMTOWN is an ongoing community art project powered through your comments and ideas. It’s an experimental game of city-making, a digital Madurodam, where my role is the builder and yours is the planner and curator. Each week, a new layer of buildings will be added to the Town. Your photographs, quotes, stories and feedback are the raw materials that drive construction for each new layer. For more, here is a link to the introductory post of STEEMTOWN and the project mission.

Introducing V.2

Here is the second phase of STEEMTOWN, below…There are some significant developments this week with the arrival of a large new office building, Church, gas station, music pavilion and the early stages of a town center (in progress). A “downtown” is beginning to take shape. To the North-East, a more natural environment takes root.

Each building and landscape element was inspired by a family of comments (outlined below.) These photographs, quotes and stories inspired their own design logic and manifested themselves as 3D characters within the Town.

How To Play

Every week, a new layer of buildings will be added to the Town. Each new addition to STEEMTOWN will be derived directly from your comments! Post an image, link, poem in the comment section below. Here are a couple of examples...

Posting an image or a story isn’t the only way to play! Your critique is also important! With each post, Steemit commenters can contribute ideas for future growth, renovation, or even petition for a deconstruction. (Maybe more on that down the road…) For now, there’s a lot of room for future development! As the Town matures we will be making / polling community decisions on zoning, infrastructure, preservation, public and private uses. STEEMTOWN will be treated as a living, breathing art-project within a digital canvas, always subject to change. Let’s see where this blue-tinted wild west takes us!

An Exercise in Building Community

Through this project - I hope to engage in a broader dialogue with fellow Steemians about their own sense of place and placemaking. These types of game-structured conversations are a fascinating way of learning more about what a person defines as his or her “community.” It’s a way of us connecting to one another through the geographies we are deeply tied to and knowledgeable of. In a world of links, likes, upvotes and IP addresses, it’s exciting to find ways of bridging the digital divide and connecting with those on the other side of the screen.


A huge thank you to the second generation of STEEMTOWN residents:
@digit @jdbry @k3t3r @riosparada @rubenalexander

If you submitted an idea last week, not to worry! Your feedback will be incorporated soon. Stay tuned as the Town continues to grow!


follow me @voronoi | design collective @hitheryon

Sort:  

What about eating some fruits on the corner?

I took this picture in my hometown São Paulo, Brazil.

This is a fantastic idea. Absolutely a must for the Town. Thanks for sharing!

This is awesome! I'm so exciter right now because I found this :) @voodoolizard, look! Ok, I would like to see the community garden in this town, shaped like the star-shaped mandala in this dreamcatcher. It would also be cool to have this ''resting place'' with sunshade in the middle of it . :D

that's a nice design for a garden! I'd love to have the same near my home as well..

Thank You! Feel free to copy it, I would love to see it in reality :)

Thanks for the support and amazing idea! This is great, we definitely need a community garden. I really like the patterning concept! :D

Thank You!! Looking forward seeing Your interpretation of it !

What an interesting idea! I see my country is already represented with a windmill :-)

If you have a favorite local windmill that you'd like to see, post an image or a link! We could always use more windmills :D

Excellent to see the bigger town view grow :) Thanks for including the gas station :)

Thanks again for the idea! The view is definitely getting bigger :D

looking great! did you see my garden-permaculture addition in your first post?

Yes! (If you look closely you'll see your name listed in that final image!) I just needed more time to model it properly :) Thanks again for all your support and great ideas @natureofbeing!

oh sorry, somehow I didn't see it!! you're doing such a great job with this, really fun to see it coming together

Great job on this! We should think about public transportation. We don't want our fair city clogged with pollution from idling traffic. How about a bike exchange system, light rail, and an autonomous fleet of electric taxis?

Absolutely. @fairytalelife had suggested a steam powered train (of course!)... perhaps something that weaves playfully in and out of the town and can handle some new density. A bike sharing network could compliment it nicely at the ground level. The steem train could also be a nice opportunity to make this town a bit more whimsical, what do you think? Thanks for the great feedback @ericvancewalton!

You're welcome! I like the idea of the Steem train... it's Steempunk! 😉

It's about to get very Steempunk up in here.

Lol. ; ) I smell an awesome marketing campaign for the platform...Steempunk.

I would like to see a Care facility for Seniors ! I have done all my blogging since I started on steemit 6 months ago from my construction site as a graveyard shift security guard ! My blogging on my job is coming to an end soon as its now completed , and I will be laid off till spring ! It was my best post ever ! Over 187.00 dollars and 502 upvotes ! Heres a link! With photos of my past 6 months at the Care Facility ! https://steemit.com/life/@karenmckersie/6-months-of-steeming-from-my-job-site-ends-my-fav-pics
THANKS !👍😉And great job !

Thank you for the great idea for a senior care facility @karenmckersie! You're sharing some incredible stories (I was one of your record 502 :)

Thats awesome thanks ! And thanks for the upvote @voronoi ! Your project is very cool ! 👍😉I just posted my top 5 monday picks of the week ! It has a big thank you added for all the support ! Heres a link you may find someone new to follow ! https://steemit.com/steemit/@karenmckersie/happy-monday-time-for-my-top-5-picks-on-steemit-a-big-thanks

Wonderful art, Voronoi! Thank you for sharing.
Upvoted & Followed you as well.

Hey, thanks @lazariko12! I appreciate your support :)

This is shaping up to be an awesome town. I think property prices may be on the up!

You've got some prime real estate there @opheliafu ;) ... maybe in a few weeks time you'll be getting some lucrative SBD offers! But really, down the line I think it would be an interesting experiment to put a plot up for sale on Peerhub.

That would be interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87