Tomorrow but elsewhere... • Demain Ailleurs... (Part 1/4)

in #art6 years ago

The Roots • Les Origines


[EN] : Everything starts in 2008. 2008 is a major step in my life but also in my photography work. Both are linked for the first time. The following pictures (in 4 parts) are the results of a one year traveling and of reflexion on my past and my future perspectives. At this time, I had no idea where to go... For sure, in my life, everything was changing in the early beginning of 2008. New job, new place, new girlfriend and the most important thing to me : my kids. Basically, from place to place, I was going back to my roots : Little Britanny (France) nearby the sea. And to express this true but also intellectual travel, I used my pinhole camera, with textures on it to get closed from a William Turner or Claude Monet style. All this gave the name of the series : Tomorrow but elsewhere...

[FR] : Tout va commencer en 2008. 2008 est une étape clé dans ma vie mais aussi dans ma photographie. Pour la première fois, les deux se mélangent intimement. La série de photo qui suit (en 4 parties) est le résultat d'un an de voyage et de réflexions sur mon passé et le futur à venir. Et à l'époque, je ne savais pas trop où j'allais... Chose certaine, tout avait changé dans ma vie début 2008. Nouveau boulot, nouvelle région, nouvelle compagne aussi et la chose la plus importante pour moi : mes enfants. D'un point à un autre, je retrouvais mes racines : cette Bretagne et son bord de mer. Et pour restituer cet authentique voyage mais également voyage intellectuel, j'ai utilisé mon sténopé, en texturant le résultat pour me rapprocher de la peinture impressionniste, façon Turner ou Monet. Tout cela va donner cette série : Demain Ailleurs...


demain_fb_06.jpg

Le blé en herbe

[EN] : In 2008, I had to realize I was a father. Of course, I knew my three children but to be honest, their mother raised them 100%. Always working, I did not spend lots of time with them. But since 2008, I had to do it as a single. And it was the best present in my life. Sharing time and discussions with my kids was an enjoying discovery. Once, we were driving through the farmland and I saw this corn field... I stopped, put the pinhole in place and let the kids have their own expression. It was a marked time in my memory and may be the most beautiful photography I made in my life.

[FR] : En 2008, je vais devoir réaliser que je suis un papa. Bien sûr, je sais que j'ai trois enfants, mais tout le temps au boulot et en déplacement, seule leur maman les élève. Devenu célibataire, j'allais donc passer du temps avec eux. Et c'est probablement le plus beau cadeau que la vie m'ait faite. Passer du temps avec eux et discuter a été une découverte joyeuse. Un jour, alors que nous roulions en campagne, je vis ce champ de blé. Le temps d'arrêter la voiture, j'ai posé le sténopé et laissé les enfants prendre leur pose. Un moment marquant et probablement une de mes plus belles photos dans ma vie de photographe.


demain_fb_01.jpg

Dining with myself / Le dîner seul

[EN] : Loneliness is the common illness. Mainly when you are your own boss. In 2008, I realized how many diners I spent at hotels, mostly abroad and for the first time, it hurts my mind. My new job as a legal expert is now different. I don't have to travel so much for the job. I travel a lot but for my own at once. One night, I had to pick up the kids, and I was early in advance. So I went to the restaurant and put the pinhole in front of me. The exposure time is exactly the time I spent for the diner. And this gives this spectacular result. this sad and terrific pic always reminds you how loneliness is a mental cruelty. But for me, I have finished with that as I have finished my diner.

[FR] : La solitude est la pire des maladies. Surtout quand tu bosses à ton compte. En 2008, j'ai réalisé le nombre de dîners que j'avais passé seul, dans des hotels, loin de tous... Et pour la première fois je prenais conscience que c'était désagréable. Mon nouveau boulot, en tant qu'Expert Judiciaire est différent. Je n'ai plus à voyager autant. Si je voyage, c'est pour moi et uniquement pour moi. Un soir, alors que je devais récupérer les enfants et que j'étais très en avance, je suis rentré dans un restaurant et posé mon sténopé en face de moi. Le temps d'exposition a duré le temps du dîner, donnant ce résultat aussi incroyable que triste. On mesure combien la solitude est d'une cruauté psychologique. Mais tout cela est derrière maintenant et mon dîner seul est terminé.


demain_fb_10.jpg

On the highway / Sur l'autoroute

[EN] : Driving on the highway was my main occupation in 2008. Not for the job but for my personal purpose. Living far away from my kids, I was driving every week a thousand kilometers to get them and drop them back. The time spent in the car was intense. Each time we were going back, every body in the car was feeling the separation to come. And also the tears. To avoid this, I had a look by the window and see the corn fields away. Just put my pinhole for 30 seconds and just get the coloured lines at 130km/h.

[FR] : En 2008, je sillonne les autoroutes. Pas pour le boulot, mais uniquement à des fins personnelles. Je vis loin de mes enfants et chaque week-end ce sont pas moins de 1000 kilomètres pour les voir et les ramener. Ces moments ensemble sont intenses. Le temps de la séparation s'intensifie sur les retours et chacun est au bord des larmes. Pour s'en empêcher, chacun regarde dehors les chaps de blé au loin.
J'ai posé mon sténopé sur la fenêtre et obtenu ces lignes colorées à 130km/h.


On the Technical Side • Sur le Plan Technique

Zéroimage Pinhole (front)
Zéroimage Pinhole (back)
Free Layer / Texture
[EN] : Pinhole cameras are the basis of photography. A box (the darkroom), a hole and an analog film. Just this. But as the hole is very little (f/365 compared to your f/22 minimum aperture with your DSLr), the exposure time is long and often more than a minute. As a consequence, il gives interesting graphical result but on top of that, as there is no lens, everything is clear but with no sharpness. Second step is to scan it and then apply a free layer on it, inlayed mostly, with Photoshop.

[FR] : Le sténopé est le plus basique des appareils photos. Une boite (la chambre noire), un trou et un film argentique. Et rien de plus. Mais le trou est très très petit (f/365 comparé au minimum sur vos APN à f/22) et donc les temps d'exposition sont vite très longs et supérieurs à une minute. Pour principale conséquence : des résultats graphiquement intéressant ce d'autant qu'il n'y a pas de lentilles (pas d'optique) et donc tout est net de 0 à l'infini sans réelle netteté. La deuxième étape est donc de scanner le résultat en haute définition et de lui appliquer une texture libre de droit dessus dans photoshop, principalement en incrustation.


Hope you enjoy! for more of this series, follow me. Next to come soon!

J'espère que mon histoire vous plait. Pour continuer la série, suivez moi, d'autres arrivent très vite!


Look at my "Hey Dad?" Posts
Mes chroniques "Dis tonton?"
#1#2#3#4#5#6#7

>> My Dtube videos <<


All photos are my own property and under copyright

You want to follow my work? Welcome aboard!

bandeau_steemit.jpg

Sort:  

Je n'avais pas vu cet article ! Comment ai-je pu le manquer? Quelle beauté...

@roxane, la suite va bientôt arriver :)

fascinating taking photography back to its roots...I remember as a child hand developing a negative from a pin hole camera made out of a shoe box... the images actually were incredible... it was a night time exposure of the shipyards on the River Tyne... in black and white it was ideal to sow the arc and welding lights reflected on the river.Unfortunately, when I went to college, my mum 'tidied up' and threw away the box with my old negs in

what a pity! But at least you can have another one! Just buy a new pair of shoes :-)

Ha ha ...yes..I can get a shoe box... but time has moved on....gave away my darkroom stuff years ago...

J’adore ! Les textes qui accompagne tes œuvres sont tellement remplie d’humanité ! Pourvoir entrevoir ton état interne et la visé que tu veux obtenir en prenant tes photos, c’est super ! Je trouve ça profondément vrai, authentique et sincère ! J’adhère à fond ! J’ai qu’une chose à te dire continue parce que je vais tout dévorer :) Tu la construit toi même ton sténopé ?

bonjour @ariethe77, merci de ton retour et oui tu l'auras compris, il y a une partie introspective et une aventure photographique initiatique. Quant au Sténopé, non il s'agit d'un zéroimage, un petit bijou en acajou :)

J’adore totalement car c’est ce que je souhaite mettre en place pour mes différents projets techniques :) Mêler connaissance et développement de soi ! Avec un collègue durant mes études, on c’était amusé à en concevoir avec des canettes de red bull en les rendant totalement hermétiques. Je me souviens plus des calculs mais en fouillant dans mon garage je pourrais peut-être te retrouver ça ;)

merci pour ton commentaire qui me va droit au coeur!

I really enjoyed reading your story! I wish people would appreciate it a bit more!

My other half used to travel a lot for work around the Europe, sometimes was away for a week sometimes for few days, but constantly. On his arrival back I would tell him the development he missed in our newborn while away. I think he regrets not changing the job earlier! :)

I have nominated you for the sevendaybnwchallenge if you like to participate!

That's great.

it's great post and photos

I hope that all of you have formed in life. The loneliness will go away. You will once again be a loved one. All will be well.

Coucou @vincentleroy,
Superbes photos, je vais essayer de passer sur le discord pour te parler.
A bientôt.

Christel

@corsica aucun soucis pour le discord, j'y suis souvent :-)

You have real one pinhole camera, that's fantastic. Never seen one before. My friend is making pinhole photos but with a tin can, not sure exactly about process but final outcome is beautiful. Enjoying your photos and story also.

technically it is the same, only the render differs :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90