Sunbathing sprite

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I was inspired by my previous sketch "Memories of spying nymphs" and decided to draw a detailed sketch. I imagined this young maiden waiting for visitors to leave the forest so she can finally get a chance to bathe in the sunlight. So here she is, out in the open. 

I spent the entire day yesterday thinking about something to draw. I wanted it to be different from the sketch yesterday and also raise the bar. In bed I thought about the story that I wanted to tell. I already knew that she would have flowers growing from her body and peaking out from her hair. Again, playing folk tales in the background to keep the image alive as I drew.

Flower placement became difficult so I decided to paint in her skin and hair. I am definitely getting better with color. This was draw on the iPad Pro with my Apple Pencil. I also used the marker brush and and technical pencil tools on the Procreate App. 

Those first Magic: the Gathering sketches and my overall love of fantasy has lead me down this path. I've got loads of ideas and several projects that I have planned. I have to work harder and faster. I can't wait to share them with you all!  

Thanks for checking out this post!

Sort:  

Great stuff. I really enjoyed reading your post. The layout you used, showing and telling us how you implemented the flowers into her hair and how you struggled with that piece was great. I am trying to get my roommate who is a sculptor on Steemit. I think I will show her your work to try and get her interested as you have some great work and ideas. Also, did I see a post about a steemit crew from Cafetto in Minneapolis with your name in it? I live just south of the cities and am trying to get some fellow Steemians together one day for a Minnesota Meetup! Cheers🍻

Yep, that was my name in the Caffetto post that @kommienezuspadt made. I might post a hyperlapse video of this and a couple other for my next post. You're friend definitely needs to join! I haven't seen too many sculptors here on Steemit and I'd love to see her work!

Thats awsome! I would love to see that. I will convince her to get on here, lol...

Hey, thanks for sharing your work. It's nice to see all the different great artists on steem.

Are there any artists on steem that you follow, who'se work you particularly love? I'm working to find the best art on steem to help promote it and encourage more artists to come to the platform.

Thank you. Yeah, we're drowning in great art right now! I honestly don't have a favorite, I'd end up listing everyone that I follow.

This is wicked! Working digitally is completely foreign to me and I respect it and those who are capable of using it tremendously! The final product is darling :)

Thank you so much! Yeah, I was all about traditional mediums until I was convinced to go digital. It has saved me a lot of wasted paper. Some of the brushes blow me away with how accurate they are to the real thing.

Looks like you, Foxy Loxy!

Lol maybe just the brows.

Nice portrait

Thanks! I spent all morning and afternoon on it. I kept getting distracted. 😶

You should find a way to maybe design for online games.

Not sure if that's my path, but a good dream.

Looks great!
She reminds me of a forest spirit or a dryad.
Thanks for sharing:)

Yep, that's exactly what I was going for! My work here is done. :)

Very nice sketch and very talented

Thank you!

I love the theme of this :) Also beautiful choice of colors and style!

Thank you! I had to play around with the colors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51