Musings

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I started taking photographs of myself for reference, later on I shared them secretly on social media. Only a few close friends have seen these images. I'm comfortable enough on Steemit to share them.

Before I started writing for this post, I planned on posting images of a self-portrait with some reference photos. Instead, I felt like I should make an effort to connect with those who are taking the time to read my stories and let you see my thoughts behind these images. 

When I first started to photograph myself, I thought about how I was feeling in that moment and how I could convey my feelings through body language. What shapes could I make? How beautiful could the lines be? Would this make for a great painting later? 

With time, these photos became a way for me to document my life as I grew. I could see the days where I felt beautiful, empowered, lonely, enraged. A full spectrum. 

I've made several postings on EyeEm. It felt great to be recognized by my peers and those that I admired. Some missed the mark. Which is fine and I'm not upset about it, more disappointed.

I visited a few users that I used to follow (and were close to) then saw that some stopped making posts and others continued on to gained more followers. I missed my change to grow with my peers but now I'm hopeful that I'll be able to create something new, that's completely my own, here on Steemit. 

I used to make up excuses about why I could not improve and make time for any form of art, there aren't any obstacles now. 

I've got sketches below that you can check out from my earlier posts on steemit.

Self-portrait digital sketch & hyperlapse

Digital Painting of a self portrait 

Thanks for checking out this post!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos! Hopefully you are going to continue posting great pics like these, cus I'm going to follow you! :)

Thank you! I would love to share more.

🍒 A lot of thing you said here really resonated with me, like:
"I missed my chance to grow with my peers but now I'm hopeful that I'll be able to create something new, that's completely my own".

I've had the same feeling too of missing the momentum and wanting to get it back, I do photography as well, some self-portraits, fashion and artsy stuff, so you have mirrored me today with your post, so now I will follow your progress and we will work hard to build our way back up :D

And good photos by the way :D

Yes! Let's both work hard together!

Interesting way of self-exploration @vermillionfox, very brave and worth of the Daily Photo Selection.

That's a huge compliment! Thanks so much. I'm following you now.

Congratulations @vermillionfox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

These are excellent. Black and white images almost always have greater emotion and depth for me.

Thank you. I cannot agree with you more!

I love black and white pictures! Nice art followed

Thanks for the follow.

Beautiful pictures!

interesting :)

That we both have 'fox' in our names?

beautiful art

Very beautiful and also thin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87