Turning My Steemit Art Into A Children's Book On Lulu

in #art8 years ago

Something I've always wanted to do was is create a children's book for both my Granddaughters and Niece and Nephew's children. I've read a couple books from Kindle Select and have been trying to work the creation into what I've been dong here on Steemit. The sketch images I've been making in Photoshop seem a natural fit for this genre of literature as well. I took a series of twenty or so stock images from Pixabay of the same mouse and set to work rendering them all into the type of graphic that would work for a children's book.


Pappy Pitches In

enter image description here


I chose to publish the book on Lulu mostly because I like their publishing tools and they make it easy to have real paper copies of your work printed on demand. They also make it easy to convert everything over to ebook format and supposedly make getting everything simple into Amazon's Kindle Direct Publishing platform. We'll put that to the test at a future date though.

One of the best parts about creating and publishing on Lulu is that they immediately make your book and cover downloadable in PDF format, and the better part is that Photoshop imported it seamlessly into segmented images. All I had to do is resize each page it turned into an image at 840 PX wide and it was ready to publish here on Steemit.

As far as how to do all this on Lulu, that's a very detailed topic that I'm going to cover in the next post I make. I have a couple dozen screenshots of the whole process and will do a proper tutorial in that post. Meanwhile, here's the finished book:


enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here


Lastly but not least, I would like to mention that I got the final inspiration for the short story from @lyndsaybowes posts about the Food Is Free Project she's been blogging about lately. Thanks Lindsay, I hope the book is worthy of the great work they, and you all do :)

Sort:  

Hello @vegascomic,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.108 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Thank you for voting...I really appreciate it!

Thank you, I learned a lot while doing it, I'll share next time.

I think I might need a paperback copy to read to my children!

Excellent work and great idea!

I'm writing the next tutorial post and getting to that. Base and author cost is $12.99. Mixed feelings on that, but it's full color , bound, "book store" quality, so a fair price I suppose.

I think it's a good price, and worth it!

You and your kids could do a science/nature series of books and do well I think :)

We have discussed that a few times.

We certainly got the photos and information.

I can envision colored pencil ....

That's a great piece of children's literature.
You have gained a new follower.
Keep up the great work...!!!

Thanks. I followed you was well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12