The Legend of Dink: Ep.01 - You Died

in #art4 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers!

I wanted to share with you all another short film I made several years ago, called "The Adventure of Dink." It was meant to be a series of short skits that revolve around an ill-fated adventurer, named Dink, who stumbles upon a wounded warrior and inherits their hero's journey. The catch is that Dink is NOT an adventurer. He's a farm boy, and is completely ill prepared for such a quest.

Dink.png

In this first episode, we are given a little bit of backstory into how Dink inherits this warriors power, and the misfortune that happens shortly after.

I hope you enjoy it!

The idea for this series came about as The Legend of Zelda meets Dark Souls, told thru the lens of how ridiculous and impractical the hero's journey actually is. No human being alive could be given such a task and actually survive it, look at Frodo Baggins, Luke Skywalker, Elsa from Frozen!! All of them are thrust into a ridiculous adventure scenario, and are suddenly completely proficient with whatever tools are at their disposal. I thought a series in which a character is thrust into an adventure, but is completely ill prepared for the task at hand would be a fun idea to explore.

As is the case with all of these projects however, they take forever to make, are very expensive, and never turn out how I expect them to. But regardless, I love to make them. Finding the time and resources will always be a struggle, that's part of the medium I suppose. There are plans to make many more of these, but I currently lack the studio space to film these, another draw back to telling stories thru the medium of stop motion animation.

And for anyone who missed it, here is "I Am a Flamingo," the other short film I recently released. You can check out the latest blog post on that here:

Thanks for following along! Until next time.

Sort:  

This is amazing! and I'm not even a Zelda fan ( Although I was born in 1981, I never really got to play the game(s), due to never owning a gameboy or console )

I love your style and humor. Hope you get a chance to continue the Dink series one day soon.

It deserves way more attention, you're very talented and skilled.

Thanks for sharing this with us :>)

Thank you so much, I really appreciate the kind words. Yeah the Legend of Zelda has been a huge part of my life, and coming up with an idea that feels original while also being an homage to one of my favorite games is something that I'd like to continue pursuing.

You're welcome. An original homage, inspired by childhood nostalgia / love sounds like a thing that can be the driving force behind the best kind of creativity :>)

PPPFFFFFFTTTTT that particular hero's adventure really didn't last long did it XD

The flaming and the crocodile are so cute!

haha no it really didn't!! That's what the next episodes are supposed to be for :P Thanks for the kind words about the Flamingo short, I appreciate it!

Ha that is pretty funny. I was halfway expecting a third unlucky sap to come strolling into the scene at the end. I remember when you shared a cool post RE making the character of Dink, gonna drop the link here for readers who didn't see it back when you posted it :)
https://steempeak.com/ocd-resteem/@tysonjames/stop-motion-the-legend-of-dink-puppet-process

Ah man that would’ve been hilarious! I’ll have to save that for another skit. haha

Thanks for posting the link, I forgot I had done that post. 🙌🏼


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks!! I appreciate it

Congratulations @tysonjames! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31