The Dreaming- Sublime Sunday

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Today when I went through my feed I stumbled on this Post by @carlgnash about an AI called deep Deep Dream Gerniratorin which photoes are turned into works of art via choices of style sheets thus learning how to do so more efficiantly each time a user does this.

You know me I am always hungry for new ways to create art from pictures with new spiffy tools and then turn them into layered collages ( especially because I can't paint in real life right now, due to issues with my hands ect. ) Like I did with the portrait of my kid and grandkids here -

Mofa.jpg

and the portrait of jubilee-

Jubilee.jpg

and my friend @annvdb

Ann.jpg

For more on my layering process and how I do it go Here

So I snuck up on Deepdream and hit it with Picasso, sadly it did not get the concept of distortion so well I was so hoping to get a freaky dog and Pandora (my grand daughter) morph it did not happen 😒

pm.jpg

I tried it with another picture of mine and with a painting from Picasso's less challenging blue period with similar result. I pouted as those two were not close to any of the beauty the crane shot @carlgnash made in his Post, Then I realised that I once again just expected to much from things and that what the AI needed was not whole paintings but basically textures and brush stroke types to do its work.

So for the next attempt I chose a new picture ( a self portrait from 2014) and decided I would run it through some of the templates the thing already had and the results were far better.

PicMonkey Collageuj.jpg

From the images and 4 run through my percolator and pix art that @c0ff33a introduced me to (the usual suspects)

PicMonkey Collageh.jpg

I created a layered collage giving us this end result.

moil.jpg

For the process on how I do these layering go Here I would like to thank @carlgnash for his introduction to yet another great art tool 😊

P.S I started this to post it for @c0ff33a's sublime sunday but it sort of turned into sublime monday very early morning

Sort:  

Oooh your final image / layered self portrait is really breathtaking! Yeah it takes some time to really get the hand of Deep Dream Generator. For one thing you have to think about how the AI will "see" a style image, as it is quite a lot different from how you or I would see it. Properly cropped, a section of picasso could work for what you are trying to do but in general it will not majorly distort the larger shapes in the base image - if you are after a distorted picasso output, I would play around with distorting the base image before you run it through Deep Dream generator, then using the generator to apply Picasso-esque detail to the brushstrokes and color palette. Also playing around with the settings as far as increasing or decreasing the scale of the style image, and weight of style image vs. base image, can result in huge changes in your final product. I have been playing around with it pretty much nonstop for a half a year now and finally feel like I am attaining a higher degree of proficiency, but even now it is still a lot of repeat attempts and trial and error to get results like I shared in my posting :) Much love - Carl

Thank you for your kind words and all the tips I will try all that :D

These are fantastic, the tag is #SublimeSunday but it doesn't matter when you post - it's all about random creativity. In fact I only posted Monday morning because 10pm Sunday Night I was still crawling around on top of a 10 foot high wooden crate with a coffee roaster inside screwing in the 12 bolts I removed 5 days earlier.

I'm glad you said @annvdb was you friend, I thought she was your twin - really good edit it gives and amazing effect.

Your multi layered effect is quite unique, I have not seen anyone else doing the before and it does look stunning - I'm looking forward to how you will develop this further.

Thank you for joining in and sharing your #SublimeSunday - I really appreciate it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Amazing, I am not very easy to be amased, enjoyed your post that is a tutorial in it self, I even signed up to dream with You, thank You for Your post.

Thank you for your kind words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43