A Day at the Museum D'Orsay -- Traveling Through Paintings #10

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Welcome on a tour through one of the most amazing art exhibitions in Paris!

 
Actually, there are almost too many museums to count there; and if you are fortunate to visit Paris one day you should plan plenty of time for discovering the world of art!

The museum I am inviting you to today is Museé d'Orsay 😊

Museé d'Orsay resides in a very large hall which was originally a train station. Now it is rebuilt into a museum and houses one of the most famous paintings from Van Gogh to Monet and Renoir (just to name a few), but houses also statues and several intriguing art collections.

Come walk with me as we travel through the many paintings 👩‍🌾


But then my thoughts focused on that woman again. Was this some kind of cruel sacrifice which was about to happen?! The people in the back had exited through a great arch and only now I could see a hooded man in the distance who dwelled in the shadows. Who was he? And what was actually going on here?...

The group of people had vanished together with the hooded man and I still stood here as I had entered. Intrigued by this encounter I carefully walked towards the place where the people had exited. The woman on the statue did not seem to pay me any attention and I was not interested in getting too close to her as the lions were still roaming about. I could not possibly imagine what was going on here and so I decided to quickly walk down the hallway and follow the people I had seen.

There was a door, rather large and ominous looking of which I could barely make out its contours. Only a little light flickered and reflected on the walls here; I could not see any handle or means of opening it and so I just pushed it a little.

Through the crack I could see something quite odd: A big, well lit room, which looked completely different from the halls I was standing in. In fact, it looked like it was somewhere completely else.

Im-50.jpg

A man was sitting there, smoking with a rather serious demeanor and looking almost straight at me. I thought that he had seen me looking through the door, but then I saw that his eyes moved away. He did not seem to notice me. I decided to enter this strange place and when I did, nobody really payed any attention. A second man sat a few meters beside him with a brush in his hands and meticulously worked on his canvas - he was painting a portrait of this man.

I came a little bit closer, and the men still did not seem to be bothered by my presence and so I made myself comfortable on the couch. The room was rather beautiful and a true artist's atelier: countless paintings decorated the walls between two very large windows through which the morning light protruded. A sweet scent permeated the air and flowers in all kinds of colors stood in vases on the furniture. I relaxed and let myself be taken in by all of this.

Continue here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43