A Day at the Museum D'Orsay -- Traveling Through Paintings #9

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Welcome on a tour through one of the most amazing art exhibitions in Paris!

 
Actually, there are almost too many museums to count there; and if you are fortunate to visit Paris one day you should plan plenty of time for discovering the world of art!

The museum I am inviting you to today is Museé d'Orsay 😊

Museé d'Orsay resides in a very large hall which was originally a train station. Now it is rebuilt into a museum and houses one of the most famous paintings from Van Gogh to Monet and Renoir (just to name a few), but houses also statues and several intriguing art collections.

Come walk with me as we travel through the many paintings 👩‍🌾


Spirals and swirls made up the world and I felt free up here looking down. The cathedral now small became larger as I flowed towards it again. Its red roof top like an island in an ocean of green. My feet touched the earth and I smiled having seen this world from up there. Content and fulfilled I stepped into its halls...

What awaited me inside was rather unexpected. The halls here were so high that I wondered how they could fit inside the cathedral! It was rather dark as well and the remaining light sprung forth from some torches spread out along the walls. Several groups of people resided here and all of them wore long robes. However, the men's robes were red and the women's (of which I could only see two) were white. Or, that is - one of them was not wearing anything actually.

Im-23.jpg

Instead, she sat somewhat awkwardly on a golden pillow which itself was positioned on the lap of a huge stone statue. I could not make out its face and the symbols that it carried did not carry any significance for me. But I imagine it must have been a god of some sorts or at the very least a very important man.

I still stood in the entrance and I could not help myself being immersed by all the things around me. The woman still remained in the pose in which I had first seen her. I could not figure out her behavior: slightly bent forward she sat there holding her arms above her chest, her expression slightly disturbed. Her gaze was, however, not fixed on the statue, but on the opposing side instead. While she did not look at me directly, I was sure that she had seen me; however, this did not cause any reaction from her.

To my amazement and slight horror I suddenly realized that the lions at the statue's feet had moved! They were alive - two real lions here in the cathedral, only meters away from me. The only thing that stopped me from rushing towards the exit was the realization that they were actually in a pit from which they could not attack me.

But then my thoughts focused on that woman again. Was this some kind of cruel sacrifice which was about to happen?! The people in the back had exited through a great arch and only now I could see a hooded man in the distance who dwelled in the shadows. Who was he? And what was actually going on here?

Continue here...

Sort:  

Woow, it must be spectacular to be in such a place, a museum with movable characters? trained lions? human architecture? Will the new era of museums be based on statues with real figures? And even more so if the traditional customs of museums are respected.

interesting thought @jadnven. We'll have to see if these ideas get picked up or how these things evolve in the future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74