🎨 YMIR AT REST

in #art6 years ago (edited)

YMIR AT REST

SH100746ps-crp-good200dpi-2200web.jpg

right click and select 'open in new tab' ▲ to view larger size
graphite on paper - 30 cm x 40 cm - 2012
Prints are available at my Pixels Shop

YMIR


In Norse mythology, Ymir, Aurgelmir, Brimir, or Bláinn is the ancestor of all jötnar. Ymir is attested in the Poetic Edda, compiled in the 13th century from earlier traditional material, in the Prose Edda, written by Snorri Sturluson in the 13th century, and in the poetry of skalds.

The Poetic Edda, by Henry Adams Bellows, 1936


VOLUSPO - (Völuspá)


Of old was the age when Ymir lived;
Sea nor cool waves nor sand there were;
Earth had not been, nor heaven above,
But a yawning gap, and grass nowhere.

Out of Ymir's flesh was fashioned the earth,
And the mountains were made of his bones;
The sky from the frost cold giant's skull,
And the ocean out of his blood.

Details


right click images below and select 'open in new tab' ▼ to view larger size

SH100746ps-crp-good200dpi-detail1-web1650.jpg

SH100746ps-crp-good200dpi-detail2-web1650.jpg

SH100746ps-crp-good200dpi-detail3-web1650.jpg




Sort:  

The Poetic Edda is a fascinating text, and great inspiration with so many aspects to explore. I would like to see your rendition of Yggdrasil, the World Tree, have you made something like that? Generally I like most your works that are in the style of this picture, the "Fomori Cycle" I would call them! They remind me of Lovecraft-inspired deities and creatures, and when Lovecraft is involved I go "shut up and take my money!"

All the dots in the edges of the picture, they give a nice effect, making the image more powerful in a way that I can't explain. The painted frame is wonderful, with all the distorted faces looking over Ymir. And the giant's grotesque face is very fitting to the general feeling of the drawing.

Yggdrasil - yes and no: there is a small sketch that bears this in the name, and long time ago I did a large color pencil drawing that now is lost. But this would certainly be a great theme for a large drawing.

Woah such detail - I like your work keep it up

thanks - that's the plan! 😊

One day I hope i will be able to see in live your drawings, it's only right way to see them in all their richness @thermoplastic.

thanks, I am exhibiting from time to time, mostly group shows. Next week in Belgrade - my up to now largest drawing.

I went to see your post, that's great news, I am coming !!! It would be such a pleasure to see your work and you :) Noted date at my calendar.

@jungwatercolor wow - you will see and meet a lot of good artists. Most of them are from Serbia. I am going to Novi Sad on Sunday to meet my friends Snezana Petrovic and Slavko Krunic, then we go to the opening on the 13th together. Are you in Belgrad?

Yes yes, I live in Belgrade and I will come to the opening night, it will be such a pleasure to see you in person :) Also , I know works of Slavko and Snezana but we never had chance to get know each other in personal. I am following their work for years.

very strange and surreal! the details are amazing and the poem / mythology is very enchanting :)

upvotes

I didn't write the poem, lol - but I was inspired by it. Thanks.

Surreal and Biomorphic, great work on this!

This is an awesome drawing. Great details.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16