🎨 TANTALUS BEEHIVE

in #art6 years ago (edited)

TANTALUS BEEHIVE

04400013ps300-1600web.jpg

* right click and select 'open in new tab' to view larger size*

acrylic painting on canvas - 1975 - 28 x 20 inches - roughly 71 x 51 cm


This is one of my early works - I just noticed I had never before posted it anywhere, not even in my “Werkverzeichnis” (catalogue raisonné) - something I should correct and perhaps check for more “missing” items.
It was created 2 years before I entered the Art Department at the University of Lethbridge. It must be said that this period around the mid-seventies was my most prolific. Even though I worked at that time for the Canadian Pacific Railway, I scheduled my runs in such a way that I had at least a week off each month to just paint! It is one of the few images from that time in my digital files, scanned from a slide. There are some more, and I think I may also post these soon. But just the tip of the iceberg, since I had “lost” most of my work from that time without a record, many of them were sold in Canada and the USA through my gallerist in Lethbridge.

04400013ps300-detail-1600Web.jpg

I sort of had a strange streak going in those days - if the ordeal of Tantalus was not enough, I had bees nesting in his mouth too. That the image resembles Darwin (with a transparent scull) is just another tongue-in-cheek quirk of mine.


You tell me what it could mean, I have to admit, I forgot - but remember, there is no logic in Surrealism, one of the definitions:

"beautiful as the chance meeting on a dissecting-table of a sewing-machine and an umbrella"
by Comte de Lautréamont in his novel
Les Chants de Maldoror



And googling that phrase again, I find this music video: Nurse with Wound Chance Meeting on a Dissecting Table. (Full Album) - (do you have time to listen for 1 hr 17 min?)

Anyway, I jump from one thing to another, and if someone could explain how my mind works, I would be thankful.



visitmywebsite-small200.gif

DSCN9471.jpg

Note: I am an Austrian Artist living in Vienna
I post many of my blogs under the tag #steemit-austria


About my Work

Sort:  

...some might say "The older I get, the better I was" but it doesn't apply to you...upvoted, resteemed and cheered on.

I think that saying may well apply - I am looking back to these carefree days of painting - thanks!

Agree with @whornung here @thermoplastic, this one is real jewel.

Servus,

du hast von mir ein Upvote erhalten! Ich bin ein Curation-Bot und meine Mission ist, hochwertigen Content unter #steemit-austria zu fördern. Hier kannst du mehr über mich und meine Funktionsweise erfahren. Wie du an meinen Curation-Rewards mitverdienen kannst, wird dort ebenfalls beschrieben.

Übrigens: Wenn du den Tag #steemit-austria verwendest, finde ich deine Posts noch leichter!

Auf dem dem Steemit-Austria Discord-Server kannst du nette Leute kennen lernen und deine Beiträge promoten.

Zum aktuellen Tagesreport

Wonderful to see your early works!!

thinking about this and searching for it made me wonder what else is missing out of my inventory.

Ja can imagine that. Hope you'll discover and share more!

This is my favourite of yours...so glad your have this saved as a digital file from your prolific painting period!

thanks - but you might have a hard time picking faves among my work. More to come. On my website are only the "parade" pieces. I will have to search my old files some more.

WOW. look what you did!
exceptional'

thank you - more to come.

Daaamn. Man!! This is a trully high level, u r a real artist u deserve to get more highlights, upvoted and i hope every one sees this talent do the same

thank you kindly - this is a old piece, doing things a bit different now......

I can't wait to see the magic!!

Oh wow... I love every detail... That's a great work

Good Surrealism, I like the bees going to they headhive (cabezacolmena).

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @-gamsam- to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65