🎨GALLERY TREADWELL IN VIENNA

in #art6 years ago (edited)

GALLERY TREADWELL IN VIENNA


DSCN9556web.jpg

for all images: right click and select 'open in new tab' to view larger size

Otto Rapp - Caroline Schell - Nick Treadwell
Otto Rapp - Caroline Schell - Nick Treadwell
On June 20. 2018 I visited the Gallery Treadwell with my good friend, artist Caroline Schell @carolineschell. It was great to meet

Nick Treadwell
again who showed us around and gave us a tour of his vast collection. Nick Treadwell's gallery is a must-see in Vienna! Fantastic art from many well known (and not so well known) artists, and quite a few are my friends and members of my extended art network. I highly recommend a visit:

Große Neugasse 18, 1040 Wien.

You also find this place on the
Steemit World Map - Gallery Treadwell in Vienna

The Gallery is in the central fourth district of Vienna, close to the Naschmarkt, the Main Station, and the Museums Quarter. Plenty of Hotels/Cafés/Restaurants close-by, and it is located between the Kettenbrückengasse and Taubstummengasse underground stations (Approximately 8 minutes walk from both). Grosse Neugasse runs between the busy Margaretenstraße and Wiedner Hauptstraße.



Some select photos from our visit

DSCN9539web.jpg

DSCN9537web.jpg

DSCN9538web.jpg

DSCN9542web.jpg

DSCN9550web.jpg

DSCN9552web.jpg

DSCN9570web.jpg

DSCN9549web.jpg

DSCN9545web.jpg

DSCN9547web.jpg

DSCN9566web.jpg

Check out the entire album on Flickr: GALERIE TREADWELL IN VIENNA



for all images: right click and select 'open in new tab' to view larger size


Superhumanism and Nicholas Treadwell


It is not easy to maneuver around the website of Nicholas Treadwell - some updates are not apparent, like the move to Vienna (the blog on the entry page is hopelessly out of date) and some of the gems are hard to find, such as the whole interesting history of his enterprise.
Sculptures by Jenny Smith 1974 – Jane Goodbody, Nick Treadwell and Jan Jackson
Sculptures by Jenny Smith 1974 – Jane Goodbody, Nick Treadwell and Jan Jackson

About

After 48 years of deep involvement with art, artists and every aspect of creativity and those who make it happen, these are still the reasons I get up almost every morning full with enthusiasm for the possibilities of what might happen on that particular day. If it looks like being a quiet day, there are so many easily enthused creative friends with whom I can make contact for mutual inspiration, whether it be for art, film, theater, a festival or whatever activity. I have had close and long relationships with many extraordinary artists, and it is they who have given me an insight into their inspiration, content and the technical quality of their work. What they don't tell me, I am close enough to conclude for myself, and I have found my own way to explore and take in the history of the art in which I have become totally absorbed. What I haven't learnt from artists, I have learnt instinctively, authentically gaining an all encompassing view of the art which has become my obsessive specialization. I love people and am fascinated by people in general, particularly those who, on the one hand, create the life inspired work I wish to exhibit, and, on the other hand, those who instinctively respond to the emotionally provocative art for which my gallery is famous. …………….

READ MORE - ABOUT


SUPERHUMANISM

Basel Art Fair 1975, with Rod Dudley`s Statue of David
Basel Art Fair 1975, with Rod Dudley`s “Statue of David”

Superhumanism – the background

The first book of Superhumanism, published in 1979, quickly sold out of five thousand copies. It was followed in 1982 by Superhumanism 2, to coincide with a New York Superhumanism Exhibition. The published ten thousand copies were again sold out within three years. These books can still be found on Amazon or other internet book websites.

Superhumanism

It was the stimulating mood and social changes of the significant sixties decade that laid the foundations of the Superhumanist movement. I arrived in the art world in the early part of that decade with an open mind, but little knowledge of art. I had no real idea of what to expect from contemporary art. I didn`t check out what other galleries were doing, but trusted my instincts in what I wanted to put on show. Some breaking down of the British class structure meant that young people from the former working classes were suddenly having the opportunity for subsidised art education. I noticed that most of the artist in whom I was interested came from this strata of society. They were not inhibited by middle class taste values, and in their art they responded instinctively to what was going on around them with contemporary vitality.

READ MORE - ABOUT SUPERHUMANISM


More pages to peruse:


READ MORE - ABOUT SIGNIFICANT EXHIBITIONS
READ MORE - ABOUT PAST LOCATIONS

check out the pages of Nicholas Treadwell's COLLECTION

quoted sources from the website of Nicholas Treadwell as per links supplied.
all photos from our visit taken by myself - unfortunately I only had my cheap Nikon pocket camera with me, so the images are not optimal.



visitmywebsite-small200.gif

6748_575609-500sm.jpg
in our conversations we mentioned the birthday party of @carolineschell - this photo is from her party five years ago

Note: I am an Austrian Artist living in Vienna
I post many of my blogs under the tag #steemit-austria


About my Work

Sort:  


Congratulations @thermoplastic!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59900.81
ETH 2561.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55