You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemy Snowflake ~ (WIP)

in #art7 years ago

I'll be excited to see this when it's done, very nice looking design. It has some of my favorite things in it; the sacred geometry that forms a snowflake, plus the infinite fractals that happen also in snowflakes, and of course, STEEM!

That is something that I've never tried; to do the ink first, then translucent paint over it. I had always done pencil outlines of the design first, then painted the watercolor on top of that light pencil work, then finally using ink pens to detail everything last. Thanks for sharing the tips and technique.

Sort:  

Hi @therealpaul, I've tried all sorts of things using pen and watercolor, I like this method the best. I did a light pencil drawing and then inked it in and I may add more ink once I finish laying on the paint. This is my favorite method when working with pen and watercolor. I have to use the Rapido Sketch pen when working over watercolor, especially when combined with gouache. My Micron pen tips get clogged up with paint particles really fast and I end up ruining new pens!

That might explain why I had trouble with pens, I used to have fits trying to get ink to flow when I first began using real drawing pens.

Yeah, I looked the problem up on the net, the micron pens can't handle paint particles. It makes me feel so sad when I have to throw one away :-(

I'm the same way-- I have a couple of old microns that I try not to use because they are so cherished, and I'm also afraid they would go dry halfway through a drawing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56709.98
ETH 2329.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37