Steemy Snowflake ~ (WIP)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Color Work

I decided to go with color because my line work is horrible right now. I feel sort of spacey and I think it's the change of weather. Maybe my hands are not steady because it's getting cold. But maybe it's because I am getting old too, I don't know. I will start another just pen and ink drawing tomorrow, a simple one this time.

I had the hardest time sitting down and doing any work today on my art. I am not on any medication and I didn't drink any coffee today. I usually drink coffee one day a week because it can cause hot-flashes, especially when I am really concentrating. Also my spelling and grammar issues are off the charts. I am perfectly healthy as well so don't worry about me having a heart attack or stroke!

I finally settled down after dinner this evening and worked on adding watercolor with a tiny little paint brush -0 something and a number 2 brush. The paint went on easily compared to my line work, which was stressing me out. I need to practice how to get nice lines, if anyone has some practice advice I would love you to share in the comments section. I'll see if I can find advice on clean ink pen lines doing a search as well.

I am going to keep this painting to only three colors, cerulean blue, cobalt blue, and Venetian yellow, which is a very mellow yellow. There are hints of yellow in the photo and I just love the color combinations. I am keeping the colors translucent so I can still see my line work.

11 x 14 inches, Hot Press Cotton Paper 190lbs, Rapido Sketch Pen, and Watercolor 2017

Link to introduction article and link to snowflake photograph.

Art Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

please finish it very soon and we want to see the final product

I'll be excited to see this when it's done, very nice looking design. It has some of my favorite things in it; the sacred geometry that forms a snowflake, plus the infinite fractals that happen also in snowflakes, and of course, STEEM!

That is something that I've never tried; to do the ink first, then translucent paint over it. I had always done pencil outlines of the design first, then painted the watercolor on top of that light pencil work, then finally using ink pens to detail everything last. Thanks for sharing the tips and technique.

Hi @therealpaul, I've tried all sorts of things using pen and watercolor, I like this method the best. I did a light pencil drawing and then inked it in and I may add more ink once I finish laying on the paint. This is my favorite method when working with pen and watercolor. I have to use the Rapido Sketch pen when working over watercolor, especially when combined with gouache. My Micron pen tips get clogged up with paint particles really fast and I end up ruining new pens!

That might explain why I had trouble with pens, I used to have fits trying to get ink to flow when I first began using real drawing pens.

Yeah, I looked the problem up on the net, the micron pens can't handle paint particles. It makes me feel so sad when I have to throw one away :-(

I'm the same way-- I have a couple of old microns that I try not to use because they are so cherished, and I'm also afraid they would go dry halfway through a drawing!

It is excellent, although by the time you are finishing it I would add black to make it contrast

I have to figure out where to add the black, but I am for sure going to darken up areas to make the white lines pop, our minds are traveling in the same stream @mariostucablog!

Excellent !!!, I was one of those who had suggested that the drawing be colored, I will patiently wait for it to be finished and show it to us

I remember @eleyda78, my goal was to let go of color work for a while after finishing the car, but I can't see to get away from it. I just love the colors of the photo, I hope the detail work won't drive me crazy, I love detail work but it makes me feel concentrated. I have to take at least 2 walks a day to leave all the tension behind.....lololol

sweet artwork! 👌

Thank you kindly @doitvoluntarily, I hope this one turns out!

Amazing work Really i like so much what you do
thanks for sharing

You are always so kind @machhour, thank you so much! Especially after struggling all day trying to sit down and work...hahaha <3

i think you are so much perfect in your work, thus you can't leave a small lacking there, like your passion about art.

@sheikh27, you are always so nice, thank you for your support.

this is a great masterpiece.

Maybe @jasonunapasee, it isn't finished yet :P thank you for your support.

you're welcome, continue to work my friend, success is always for you.
friend if any time visit my post.

One of the greatest art @reddust.
Resteemed.

Amazing drawing design

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.28
ETH 2333.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36