Jupiter Sunset - A Pseudo-abstract Digital Painting

in #art7 years ago

Jupiter Sunset


I've recently been experimenting with digital art as a way of making it easier to get back into painting with minimal fuss, mess and cost.

Most of what I'm making isn't going to be of the quality or value that justifies actual oil paints, canvas and the long time it takes to dry - plus since I have cats it is not very practical to use real media.

Anyway this is one piece that I actually like!

The Inspiration For This

As I've said before I like textures and abstract work and this is inspired by a combination of some of the work I like by artists like Rothko, as well as high resolution images of the planet Jupiter and the colours of a sunset.

The pattern of lines with a more organic and slightly chaotic feel is also inspired by imagery of gas giants like Jupiter.

I hope you like it. Also (as I usually say) feel free to use it in your own posts if you can find a use for it. If people like this kind of thing I can do more.


How It Was Created


It was created on my Ipad using ARTRAGE.

This is an app I particularly like because it simulates the textures and feel of real brushes and other media without being overly complicated.

It is also available on Windows and MacOs and gives you many of the features of Corel Painter for a fraction of the price and doesn't require the monster system which that application necessitates.

BTW if you have any other recommendations for simple painting apps (Iphone or Desktop) that have realistic media please let me know.




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Sort:  

Oooo, I love this! The way it's simulated the paint and brush strokes is amazing! Gonna check it out now. Thanks! :)

Just bought the app! :)

Cool let me know how you get on!

Loving it so far. Now I just need to learn how to paint! :)

Well it is pretty easy to do stuff like this!

Yeah, I might start off slow with some "Abstract" stuff :-)

great idea on painting the minimalist way -
thank you!
you just gave me an idea to start painting on my note 1 again

What brush settings were you using for the yellow band right at the top? I'm trying to reproduce the texture with the occasional lumps you've got there.

I used the Oil brush - it's the big fat one.

Those are nice colors and I love the gradients. They seem so relaxed and mellow until the eyes are drawn to that light strip in the middle, which really shines through. That's when I realized it might be more than a sunset, just before I read the Jupiter part.

Cats don't do digital?

Thanks. Well the cats do like sitting on my wacom tablet but they can't really do much to damage it!

I like the quality of the end result.

This comment has received a 0.14 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptopie.

I like the shift in colour gradation from the vivid yellow and orange palette into the somber reds. At first glance I thought it was an alien sky - I've been visiting a number of astronomy sites and then I saw the title. Hard to believe this is digital painting because of the brush strokes. You have cats? ha ha, I sympathize. My tabby is into everything so I imagine paints would be out. Very beautiful

Thank you. Yes my cats get everywhere.

Nice image, you can get lost inside while looking at it ! Haven't heard about this app so thanks for sharing :)

@thecryptofiend - That is created by digital painting? It absolutely looks like oil on canvas. The texture and flow is very realistic. I have used Artrage on my iPad before but never could produce such a masterpiece by wizardry like yours. I really like the blend of Jupitor environment waviness and Sunset orange hue colors of earth. Very nice. Upvoted.

Update at my end is that - Usually I write blogs about wildlife or travel photography but a stray dog and a crafty cat made me think of Dog/Cat person personalities and I wrote a blog about it with pictures and some stats. I request you to take a look when you have time and provide your valuable comments. Your comments enhance my Steemit experience. Thanks

Thank you so much!

That is really cool, I am going to have to check it out. Have you used Krita?

It's a really nice paiting! :D

I am really suprised by the texture an app can simulate. I wonder @thecryptofiend does it feel like painting? Do you get the resistance to surface?

Not really - at least not in the same way. I think eventually technology will allow replication of things like that but it is not there yet. With the wacom tablets you can sue different nibs though which change the resistance somewhat. On an Ipad you would need to use different pens.

I thought as much, it will be interesting when that is possible and I do wonder what effect that will have traditional painting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59471.57
ETH 2618.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40