A Day at the Beach No.1 - Minimalist Digital Landscape Painting

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A Day at the Beach No.1


Here's another piece I created on Corel Painter 18.

The Inspiration For This

This is continuing on the water based theme.

Some of my fondest memories are of going to the beach as a child. We are very lucky in England that we are rarely more than a few miles away from the coastline (especially in the northern regions) and there is an abundance of beaches.

There is something particularly calming about staring out across the sand onto the sea. It is a combination of the sensations, the sounds, the smells and most importantly for a painting like this - the colours.

I believe the right combination of colours can have a calming effect on the mind and that is part of what I was aiming for here.

I also love the way the coastline can jut out in an irregular manner, so sometimes you can look across the sea to another piece of land that is a few miles away. The atmospheric haze creates a dreamlike feel - like the land is much more distant than it actually is.

I have created the impression of a similar landmass in the distance here.

I hope you like it - it still has a bit of an abstract feel but is a bit different from the other paintings I posted. This was again done using the oil brushes in Painter - mostly the bristle oils brush which is my new favourite.

Also (as I usually say) feel free to use it in your own posts if you can find a use for it.




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Sort:  

Really lovely art as always! Didn't know you were from England. So in your painting you have a beach on the other side. And on that beach im standing, waving at you from the Netherlands haha!

Lol I don't think we can see quite that far - the curvature of the Earth would probably prevent it! I have heard stories that mirage like effects have made people think they can see the land masses off in the distance that they should not be able to see. It is very rare though.

Haha I know, was just a joke! Still you are right, I heard of those effects too but I'm still really doubtful it really exists. Only If I see it myself I will believe it haha

I live in London, but unfortunately for me, I don't live anywhere near the coastline. The closest body of water to me is the boggy, murky Thames filled with eels with a brown colouration. It doesn't give the best appeal to nature haha

However, every time I did go to the beach ( I tended to go to Poole Beach as it is pretty nice and clean) it felt as if I had gone on holiday. A pleasant experience especially feeling the soft salt winds as well as taking a refreshing dip in the water. (Seems like a pretty good idea to make a blog about haha)

When I look at this painting, it does drive me calm, and there is a serene and celestial vibe to it. I feel like I've been captured in a dream world with nothing too sharp or vibrant. Just cool colours to complement the beautiful day at the beach.

Another truly spectacular piece of work @thecryptofiend! :)

Thank you! Well you can go to the beach from London - the main problem is that you would need to go by car and even though the distance is pretty small, car travel in London is a nightmarish experience! You can use the regional railways but they are actually just as bad but in a different way!

Travelling by car in the city is bad enough but when returning home at around 6pm, the motorway iis always jam packed full of people leaving you stuck in slow moving traffic for a few hours. However, that little nightmare is worth living through to cherish years of memories.
I'll go again during August but the weather doesn't seem like it is going to get that hot anytime soon, unfortunately.

Yes the weather has taken a turn but I suspect it will get better towards the end of the month.

I hope so. It tends to get better at the end of the month but you can't expect the British weather to ever conform to what you want it to do haha

the painting has a haunting quality - It captures an elusive mood of the sea, the sense of mystery conjured by a cool mist, and the undefined boundary of sea and sky. I can almost hear the gulls cry and inhale the dank scent of sea water and wet sand. A very subtle rendering of a wistful day.

you're very welcome. Loved that - felt I had been at the shore :)

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: dropAhead to focus on curating posts, core of the project!

A very good piece indeed...upped. this post reminds me of the good days on the sea side..keep it up.

welcome @thecryptofiend feel free to see my latest blog post about downvoting and recent issues about it. Your comment will be welcomed. Thanks and wish you more success.

Already seen it.

Great, thanks a lot. Keep steeming to more success

Master Piece... Appreciated Work..!!

Couldn't relate more ! Ahh the memories, it was simply the best to go to the beach as a child :)

Yes absolutely!

I wasn't expecting to see another talent from you for a few days after yesterday's art work, but wow my friend , you just brought back many memories , the child within us will always be there , people grow but memories never fade. Keep inspiring @thecyrptofiend

You're welcome :) keep it up. I'll be waiting for more inspiration .

Steem on 🚂🚂

@thecryptofiend
Very nice!
I need to get back into Corel! I used it years ago and now miss it . I think it could do me some good therapeutically as I deal with stressful times. I've always found art to be very relaxing.
Peace!!

Hope I was also near a beach just like you did. I have to travel at least 4 hours to the nearest beach here and have to pay for the entrance and cottage, lame right. Btw, awesome art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30