Art Attack! #1: It Begins! 🎨

in #art4 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

So if you didn't catch my update post a couple of days ago, I did a kinda reflection on what I've been doing on Steemit these past few months, and the direction I'm going. But I also mentioned that I'll be starting a new series, called Art Attack!

The name is an homage to this British children's TV show revolving around arts and crafts I used to watch as a kid.

Image result for art attack
Source: huffingtonpost.co.uk

So the reason why I thought of this new series is because I've been getting into art quite a lot recently (esp since I finally have the time now), and I thought it'd be fun to share my pieces here! Perhaps offering a glimpse into an amateur artist's creative process.? 🤔

I wasn't really sure which piece to start with, because to be honest, I've been doing art on and off for quite a long time. In my family, we used to give birthday cards and have everyone write on the card before giving it to the birthday boy/girl on that day. So I used to make the cards all the time. It always took a while to make because I'd tailor the card to the person. For example, I made a car-themed card for my dad, or a Tetris-themed card for my brother. I'm just sad I didn't take pictures of them. It only occurred to me after a couple of years that I spend all that time making those cards but after I give them away I never get to see them anymore. That's when I started taking pictures. But then my hard drive spoilt. 😓

Image result for sad cat
Source: womansworld.com

Anyway, I started getting back into art last year and decided to draw a little something for my brother and sister-in-law for a housewarming gift!
My sis-in-law likes the way pineapples look (aesthetically), and she likes dogs, so I thought a recreation of this picture would look good on her new wall!

Image result for mr bean the corgi pineapple house
Source: pinterest.com

The corgi pup looks so cute and peaceful, and I want them to feel just like that in their new home as well.

I don't actually have pictures of the initial sketch, unfortunately, but after outlining, here's what it looked like!

I once asked my sis-in-law what name she would give her dog if/when she ever got one, and she told me she'd name it Bok Choy! Hence the name. 😅

I tried to make the pineapple look like a plush house but I think it just ended up looking a little weird. Maybe I should've added some extra details like I did for the pillow to show that it was fabric.?

I hadn't gotten into painting yet, so this was coloured with colour pencils. It was soo tiring colouring the whole pineapple! I'm glad I managed to blend it well enough so you couldn't see much of the markings after that.

I did initially consider colouring a background, but I was too tired from using the colour pencils so I left it white. I did add some gold highlights to the lettering though. I know it doesn't look that great, but it was my first time lettering so don't hound me please!

In case people think this is me flexing my artistic talents, trust me, I don't have any. I used to be really really bad at art; I couldn't draw whatever I saw or thought onto paper. I remember going for an art class at my local community club when I was around 7 years old and I drew a snail in crayons that was the stuff of nightmares. Fortunately, I don't have a picture of it.

Image result for pusheen art

I once read a quote that has stuck with me to this day, especially now that I'm doing more art.

"A good artist is just a bad artist who never gave up."

So if you wanna learn to draw, or animate, or whatever but you think you don't have the talent, don't worry and just go for it! Art is a skill, and just like any other skill, it can be learnt. So watch some videos and get to sketching! Practise makes perfect!

Thanks so much for reading! You can check out my other pieces and doodles on instagram: @ duck.a.designs!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.steemblogs.club/2020/02/16/art-attack-1-it-begins-%f0%9f%8e%a8/

Check out my previous post!

[Update] A New Series Appears! Also schedule changes

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65