The Forgotten one -full color

in #art7 years ago

The forgotten one.
I've started using photoshop for drawing a year and a half ago. I had no tools for it, i mean no tablet that i could draw with any general idea how this thing works. I have no idea how much time i've worked on this one. So, I was drawing with my mouse. I tried and failed a couple of times. Then i said: fuck it, i will never git gut at this. But at the end of the last year, my friend and teacher gave me a gift. A goddamn Wacom Intuos pen small. I could not take my smile off my face. I started watching videos explaining composition, colors, improving workflow, (I still can't fully understand colors). At first, i was... Let's say scared, my teacher gave me something and i had to use it, to master it. But soon after that, this was my favorite toy.
The Forgotten one came out as a really simple idea, and it turned out to be one of my best works... For me at least.

Tao Lei thumb nail.jpg

I finished it in the middle of April. So many things happened since then. And i still remember the struggle with it. And when i finished the grayscale image. (All my life i was drawing with pencil or ballpoint pen. I loved the monochromatic color scheme, I still do. I think colors can distract if not used correctly. The Values, the true nature of representing the real world in 2d surface).But yet again i had to fight it, i had to put more emotion in the frame shot. I had to let it glow. I still can't decide if i did it right...

Tao Lei colorgrind.jpg

Tools used: Photoshop cc2017 and a Wacom Intuos pen small

Tip to artists: when you are painting some sort of cloth fabric, it's all color, rarely you can see a hard reflection, just add shadows and color.

If you like my art, please follow me on:
facebook; artstation; deviantart; behance

Sort:  

I love your work and the commentary you add to it. Really well done.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.18$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Thanks! I try to let you guys create a picture of what is happening in my head while i'm doing what i'm doing. I'm glad you like it :)

That's amazing man, hats-off to you. Sometimes when you see an image, it does something to you and you don't know what that feeling is. That's how it made me feel. Good luck man, Good luck

Thanks, yeah i had that feeling when i saw the H.R. Giger alien for first time...

I love that you included a tip to artists at the end. That's a killer idea, to share a tidbit of your experience with other artists.

Going from traditional media to digital can be decidedly frustrating, glad to see you didn't give up on the forgotten one ☺

it was really strange at the begining. Now is just another tool. Yes, i'm still a noob with it but i tryhard a lot :D I saw 1 dude sharing his tricks on facebook then i decided to share mine too, cause someone might show me even better way to do my work. :)

Hi @svdsdragunov, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Oh, I really appreciate it! :) Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74