Preliminary sketch for illustration

in #art6 years ago (edited)

StairwayCU.jpg

Stairway3.jpg

This is a sketch I've been working on for weeks now, the most difficult part was not having a clear idea of a story from the start, but searching for it during the process. I had several different 'actors' at the bottom of the stairs and at the top. Now I think I can see a story that is a bit more interesting than the previous ones I had:

A demon runs a prison/house of ill repute, full of human females. The matron/warden starts out as a bad person, dealing out harsh punishments for minor infractions. But over time she changes, and ends up leading a prison break. She sacrifices her life for the others safety and freedom.

The plan is to finish this illustration a few months from now.

Sort:  

That's fucking amazing. You've gotten incredibly good. I wouldn't have said your stuff was bad or anything before, but now your shading is damn near next level shit.

I definitely love everything in the image, it reminds me of an old dracula movie, where the whole scene is set in the XIV or XV century.

I would like to see how it ends.

That's looking very good so far. I can't wait for the finished result!

That's looking very
Good so far. I can't wait for
The finished result!

                 - trincowski


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Wow! You captured the atmosphere amazingly and I hope you'll share more about this painting and story in the future. The color palette really accentuates to the terror and those scared poses.

This is very detailed. An excellent illustration. And chilling too, if I might add. Thanks for sharing this work in progress. I can't wait to see the finished product. upvoted, followed and resteemed!

This illustration has great feel, and tells a story on its own!

Just amazing!

Congratulations! Your work has been featured on our Week 5, Day 4 of highlighting deserving artists in this community.

Week 5, Day 4 ~ @stahlberg.

Congratulations @stahlberg! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78