Not Lara Croft Part 2 (the 3D)

in #art6 years ago

Why did I call this "Not Lara"? Because the sketch started off as Lara Croft.
But in the very next version it became something else, which I was too lazy to name right away, so I simply called it NotLara. That stuck, and I never came back to give it a proper name.

NotLaraCU.jpg

Here's Part 1 of this post:
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/not-lara-croft-part-1-the-sketch
where I show the process of the sketch.
When we last saw the sketch, it looked like this, all 2d, not very polished, but enough to start working in 3d.

NotLara17.jpg

I started in Maya with some blocking out.

Mayarender3.jpeg

I found I should move the tongue of the creature from her front to her back for a more dynamic pose:

Mayarender4.jpeg

Then I started sculpting in ZBrush:

Zbrush1.jpg

Adding colors - and perhaps a bit too much subsurface scattering:

Zbrush4.jpg

Adding the girl and her gun:

Zbrush3.jpg

I took it back into Maya to render some passes, that I later combined in Photoshop. For instance an Ambient Occlusion pass, one pass for the blue light, one for the laser light, etc:

SculptRender5.jpeg

SculptRender4.jpeg

Finally I painted on top of the whole thing, to make it more like my vision. The closeup at the the top is the final version of this one.

SculptRender3.jpg

Let me know what you think, if you have feedback, or what's your first reaction, how do you think this would play out as a scene from a movie, what soundfx would there be, what's her back story, etc. :)
Thanks for watching!

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing

love ur working flow from ur idea to the finished piece
it looks rly epic especially the texture of the creatures skin
sound effects? there would be this high pitched sound of the blaster and a deep growl of the creature i think would fit

Thanks!
Yeah cool... and the sound of frying meat maybe? Or perhaps more like an arc welding torch - SPUTTER SNAP CRACKLE POP... and the girl screaming curses! :)

Glad you shared the steps behind this work. lots of cool software to make it. I really like the lighting on the image.

What can I say, its fantastic! Im unfamiliar with 3D artwork and 3D tools (Maya?) How long did it take?

Thanks! Yes, Maya is owned by Autodesk now, it's been around since 1988
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autodesk_Maya
It took me about 2 weeks, in my spare time.

Thanks for the info! Some time ago I tried the tool blender, but it is so time-consuming to learn how to use it ;)

Fun post, really cool process.

Wow, amazing work, again! Would also interest me aprox. how much time it takes you to do the 3D version. Btw the sketch is amazing too!! :)

Thank you twice! :)
it took about 2 weeks in my spare time. Maybe a bit longer... the sketch was fairly quick, the sculpting took most of the time.

That surely need a lot of imagination power to create an awesome graphic presentation..I see the force of emotion to drag your talent in it and finalize the art work

Waw! I saw the sketch in your prévious post, and the result in 3D is perfect!! Following you :-)

amazing, what renderer did you use?

Thanks! I used the Mental Ray for Maya, now discontinued

Hy! I am a bot and I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for great post! I follow you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59