Hang Tuah

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My attempt at painting a Malaysian icon, Hang Tuah, perhaps the most famous and legendary figure in this part of the world. He lived in Melacca in the 15th century, and was an admiral loyal to his sultan. In fact so loyal that after the sultan unfairly tried to kill him, he still obeyed the sultan's order to kill his (Hang Tuah's) best friend.

The woman is supposed to be the Puteri Gunung Ledang, the princess of Mount Ledang, another famous character.
I hope no one thinks I screwed it up so much it's disrespectful! Let me know if I got something wrong. :)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hang_Tuah

temp.jpg

I have to write a few more words here, because a free upvote bot I like to use counts the words, not the images. Which to me feels a little unfair towards visual artists (and musicians and dancers!) in favor of writers, but whatever. It requires 120 words. Hope I'm up to that now. :)

Also, tomorrow morning I leave on a company retreat over the weekend, so I'll be MIA until Sunday night.

Thanks for watching!

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg

Sort:  

As always, just love what comes from you. Such a beautiful art.

Nice composition. The face of Princess of Mount Ledang is particularly beautiful!

Cool. The face in the clouds is the best detail.

such a magic paintbrush you have in hands, as always !

Whoa! That's some hardcore painting. Great stuff. Can't wait to see more.

Nice art, maybe you can write up a summary of your inspiration, drawing and process? I think can easily get 120 words 😅

Inspiration for this was Hang Tuah... drawing and process? I painted it in Photoshop with a Wacom Intuos 3, but that's something I stated over and over again in all my posts in the beginning, I got tired of it. :)

See it's difficult to talk, for those who don't particularly love talking. That's hard to understand for those people who love talking... like my wife. Take any subject, and she can go on and on... :) me, sometimes I don't feel like communicating too much with words...

Understand you completely, most of my stuff are photography and drawing, not many proper write up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52