Entry for Art Explosion Week 32: "Vicious"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My entry for Week 32 Art Explosion contest, with the theme "Vicious",
https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-32-theme-vicious-25-steem-or-sbd-in-prizes
I wanted to make it a vicious rabbit, partly because it's Easter soon, and partly because juliakponsford made a rabbit-themed post recently :)

Vicious7.jpg

I started on some notebook paper with a very simple sketch. Basically just jotting down an idea.

cutebunnysketch.jpg

Then I got it into the computer and continued in Photoshop:

cutebunnysketch2.jpg

Next step, just working it a bit more, I flipped it because I want people to read the rabbit's face first, and the fairy later. (of course this doesn't work in cultures that read right to left)
I added a sword being brandished, and a bitten-off ear, for more viciousness

Vicious4.jpg

Time for a re-draw, on an overlay, at a larger file size:

Vicious6.jpg

And the final image again. It's still possible to work it a lot more of course, but I'm running out of time and anyway I kind of dig the effect of it right now, a bit loose and fresh :)

Vicious7.jpg

Thanks for watching!

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, the detail and creepy look is just amazing. Love seeing the process photos. I can definitely see a direction these characters could go in. Great work.

Thank you! Yes I'll probably get back to this one later, with a more fully realized backdrop, an icy blue glow on the fairy and for contrast a blood and mud spattered darker colored rabbit :)

I was just talking to a friend who I showed this to and had mentioned I would love to see it with a splash of color even if it was just on her and the strapping. Definitely looking forward to see where you take it.

Haha! I Love it! "Vicious rabbit!" indeed...
I read it up to down (scrolling down on the pc), so saw the fairy first of course! Bitten off ear works, so do the claws...

Thanks! Yes that would happen, I see now a slight miscalculation :)

Yup, fairy was the first thing that caught me too. Perhaps do another one with the rabbit rearing up, saliva dripping from its jaws... Yes, yes, I'm getting carried away... 😂

Nice my friend :D

Great character's here. The rabbit ia pretty wicked. The textures work well with the pose. I like the fairy riding and exuding some power too. Overall, fun to read and see the process. Thanks for sharing. Following to see more

Thank you! :)

Very well drawn @stahlberg, I think you have a good chance of winning the contest. Good luck to you!

Thank you! :)

Wow. This is amazing art. A fierce and vicious look of thr rabbit only the warrior can take it as pet. Great job @stahlberg. #teammalaysia.

I think you succeded achieving the viciousness. :)

Love it! Particularly that fairy's hair-do. It's just wild :)

Thanks! I shave my hair off every Sunday, I suppose I put it all in my work :)

Insert Monty Python and the Holy Grail reference here.

Seriously cool stuff!

Thanks!
Next - The Holy Handgrenade!

Whoah! So cool. That bunny looks badass, and the fairy looks pretty vicious too... love the effects you can get with digital art programs, at some point I'll get around to trying them. Looking forward to checking out more of your work @stahlberg, following you.

Thank you! Yes digital is the way to go imo, I was doing it traditional for my whole life, probably tried every medium except maybe encaustic, then computers came along and saved me... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00