Computer Graphics from 15 years ago

in #art6 years ago

This is Aida v2.0, a character I made for a Malaysian government agency in charge of the Multimedia Super-Corridor in Cyberjaya (just outside Kuala Lumpur).

She was a virtual host in an animation designed to introduce and showcase a special installation there.
She comes flying in on her jet contraption from far off in the background, comes to a stop and hovers in front of the audience and introduces herself and the system she's running on. I was co-founder of a studio called Optidigit back then (closed long since). We had some employees, but this animation was all done just by me, from concept to manual lipsync keyframing, to final render.

aidafilmstrip.jpg
aida8lo.jpg

I built, rigged, animated and rendered her in Maya. Back then there was no such thing as Normals, all the detail is modeled in with Subd surface. Also no Mental Ray or Arnold renderers, we had to use the Maya renderer. :)

aidascreen.jpg

I textured her in Photoshop.

aida4.jpg

How far we have come in just 15 years! :)

.

My name is Steven Stahlberg, I joined Steemit in December 2017. I was born in Australia, grew up in Sweden, but now live with my wife in Kuala Lumpur. I've lived here about nine years so far, and love it!
I work as a lead artist in a game company here. My two sons live in Sweden. I'm working on a graphic novel in my spare time. Thanks for watching!

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg

Sort:  

Astonishing work!

I remember how rendering was >20 years ago. I was using an Amiga 1200 with programs such as LightWave 3D, Cinema 4D and Imagine!

To render a single frame, I had to leave the Amiga running all night long 'cause it would take, at least, 9h! :-O

These are the sorts of thing I recall when people tell me "Blockchain Technology is doomed because it is slow."

Thanks! Yes and the joy of rendering a long animation only to find a small error and have to start over!!

ha people say that? I thought blockchains worked faster than other more centralized systems, like banks? Anyway yeah the "common" man, with "common" sense, never listen to those guys... :)

Yes, that happened more often than not.

Some people say that, yes... but the same people have been using the Internet for over 20 years... and apparently, they forgot how long it would take to download a single .png image, back in the 90's.

If being slow was a reason for a technology to fail, then almost all of them would have failed and we wouldn't have Internet by now. :-)

Blockchain is still an infant. It's only natural that it will get faster and faster in the future... and in a few years, maybe we'll be dealing with thousands of transactions per second, which will allow for systems like VISA and Mastercard to be replaced by Bitcoin, Monaco, TenX, etc...

I'm confident we'll get there.

Nice work. 3D modeling, especially figures, still escapes me.

this reminded me of the real-time digital animated human using Unreal, Siren in GDC 2018. Indeed how far have we come

Wow that's amazing and even more for something from 15 years ago!! Have you continued doing 3D characters?

Thanks! Yes I did, for about ten more years, but gradually went back more and more to drawing and painting... I'll make another post about some other characters later. :)

Can't wait to see it

Interesting. What brought you back to the drawing and painting after so long? I work digitally/traditionally so I always wonder what moves someone in a certain direction.

When I first was able to do 3d I enjoyed it much more than 2d. It felt like a new dimension had opened up to me, no pun intended. :)
But it was a double edged sword - an extremely painstaking and frustrating art form back then, it still is to some extent although 10,000 times faster and more interactive today, still there's the constant struggle to keep up with accelerating changes. Add in some kicks in the groin by life, and I quite simply burned out on 3d. I retreated back to my 2d roots.

It's odd that I have been aware of accelerating changes, and yet never really account for that when considering the extent to which I want to work in 3D. Thanks for the helpful reply.

Yes I remember watching this animation at one of the MDeC events if I'm not mistaken. That was soooo many years ago!

Yeah!
then maybe you remember Hasnul Samsuddin, an enormously fat guy who was the boss of the center? He's still with MDeC but he's lost all that weight now, in an amazing transformation some years ago. Nice guy.

Doesn't ring a bell :P

I only remember meeting you, Robert Chang and Tajino back then lol!

That looks cool... Has it been implemented in any of the Malaysian programmes?

Thanks! No I don't think so

Nice thing :) 15 years... How times flies

Epic. I remember seeing this in CGtalk back then i think. 15 years ago was still ok compared to your facebook post on CG in 1992!

I started in 1998 with Bryce and Poser haha. Did a post abt that in my blog too

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65826.04
ETH 3521.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49