It's Not You, It's Me - Caught me dreamin // a projection mapping project

in #art6 years ago

I participated in a group show called "It's Not You, It's Me" for the EAST AUSTIN STUDIO TOUR 2018 Check out #selfiegauntlet on instagram to see uploads from the entire show. "Caught Me Dreamin" was one of thirty installations each designed to direct the audience to take selfies in particular ways.

MbJavoc.jpg

While it's not exactly a step by step tutorial this video gives some insight into our process and a sense of what it was like to participate. I go through it in more detail with the images below the video.

Eric and I found a pillow, a blanket and a music stand to create a fake bed. Our original intention was to have the bed sideways and create an entirely sideways bedroom.


We started playing with a test pattern in our portion of the warehouse. This in a way set our color pallet for later.

We started building our dream cloud. This was the first version. I also spent some time working out the perspective, ultimately switching from the sideways bedroom idea to a normal orientation.


To add some physicality to the space we added some window frames and started testing out some patterns and mappings with the projectors a bit more.



We were setup up against a big garage door. I walked in one morning to find our piece tattered. Another artist working in the space needed to open the door while we weren't there and ended up destroying what we had put together so far!

I wanted to remake our dream cloud any way, so I got back to work, and made it bigger so that it could fill the frame better and have a clearer dream image. Spent some time here working out the smaller dream puffs (supposed to indicate a dream bubble).

With a little projector mapping magic (with two projectors) we came to our final setup!

Thanks for reading and watching! If you enjoyed it, subscribe for more and send me an upvote!

Visit me on instagram https://www.instagram.com/rainbow_jaw/

Sort:  

I like this, it's attractive, it has everything, modern, selfies, dreams, it's all a performance, I also love that the audience has the possibility and pleasure of interacting with the work. With all its rarity this is innovative for the art world... My respect.

WAAHH! I LOVE IT! That choice of colours and the glow is so ethereal and yet perfectly simple, adorable, and pretty!

MORE PROJECTOR ART! I demand it!!

THanks @shahzadeh there will definitely be more projector art i guarantee it! I appreciate you leaving a comment, sometimes steem feels like it is only bots.

I loved the idea of taking selfies lying down, it should not have been so complicated to pretend that you slept hahaha, it was very ingenious the setting they used, I liked the cotton clouds and the picture frames that hung to beautify the set of photographs. Very good idea and very good job, congratulations.

If just watched the video, I wouldn't know it took from a garage @solrasol :P And it like magic, this mapping project really do wonders and miracle. The end result looks so nice. And I found both of you have fun and enjoy it very much.

I felt sad and down if found out what I did destroyed by other people. Not sure how about you. But glad that both of you set your gear and start to rebuild again.

What a fun project! I really love how it all turned out!

It is interesting to know all those efforts you guys had just to get the right photo. If I were you, I may just had a selfie in my bed pretending to be asleep. 😃

The final setup and outcome is very good. The background blue lighting feels so calming for a bedtime aura. And the projector effect is perfect! I just have to admit I laughed at the last photo. 😃 What is that in your dream, turkey? 😊

yes it was a lot of work, but it hundreds of people came through the show (there were other artists setup with installations as well), so it was worth it!

Wow! Hundreds of people coming to see what you got means you really a good job. Congratulations!

That is really interesting to have a look behind the scenes, especially seeing first the final result, it looks like it was done in a studio, with everything well prepared and that it might have taken a long way for creation. But looking at the process pictures, I believe it is not so difficult to makes such fairy tale like condition, to create a dream that you can capture on camera. Like the Artworks in frames on the wall and cloud despite of being small still sizeable for projecting the pictures. Really good idea and nicely presented.

Hey stef, yeah that is a funny thing about art like this. I have a background in film-making which undoubtedly had a hand in the end result. I had fun playing with this aspect, where one part is just about the final photo, while the participant also gets to experience this as a process by walking into it and finding the right frame. It was really fun to watch people figure out how to do it as it doesn't really make sense until you sit down in the chair, put your head on the pillow and have your camera pointed in the right direction.

Seems like you had a lot of fun with the project. It's definitely the kind of project I wouldn't mind working on. It doesn't even look like you guys are working but more on having fun.

Hi solrasol,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36