The teardrop, Trying my hands on reflections and refraction. ( Original artwork pencils on paper By Angelo Borg.) Tutorial.

in #art8 years ago (edited)


                                           The teardrop:

Original artwork pencils on paper By Angelo Borg.

Greetings steemers:

As I have already inform you I am trying to remove the rust of my hands by practicing everything I know from the start, with sketches. I will try to go back to my previous state of designing and I will share my progress with my loyal followers here on steemit at my blog with daily updates. At some point I will jump to more complex paintings and draws as I am regaining my confident towards my skills.

 Yesterday I presented to you some rough sketches of the way I approach body expression with some rough sketches, nothing fancy or complicated just some lines that describes the human pose with some quick lines. 

 Today I will present you my approach of describing reflections and refraction's, what is best to achieve that than the human eye. 

 For this design I used as my mediums 3 pencils ( B, 2B, F) on a paper. As always I will start with an F pencil to make some measurements and a rough shape for the eye. I never force my pencils on the paper, I let the hand flow with just enough force so that the pencils are barely touching the paper.

 I will work then with some light tones and I will decide before everything where my refraction's and reflections will be. Remember I hate using erasers but they are a tool that comes in handy, as you will see on my final retouch of the sketch.

Then some mid tones here and there with a B pencil, 

 finally I will retouch the entire sketch with a 2B pencil.  

Problems at photographing pencils and some tips:

The camera is having a hard time to capture the tones indoor, the flash is just reflecting on the metallic nature of the pencil so I will have to take the sketch outside on the sunlight to use some natural light for the best result of the picture.

Note: This is the only use I can think of for an eraser, I want to create additional contrast and do minor corrections on my high lights and the shape of the refraction of the light. Mainly the left part of the eye as a mean to create a better perspective and the upper parts of eyelishes (those minor changes are not going to be that apparent on the camera unfortunate, but they do a great deal of improvement on my naked eye,)

 In the photos below you can compare the before and after effects, of what the eraser is good for. But still remember clean up your eraser and go soft with it. slowly until you get the result you are after.


Before:

After:

 I hope you will like this and enjoy it, as much as I did creating it.

Best regards.

 Angelo Borg


If you enjoy my artwork you can support me with an up-vote.
or constructive criticism

Follow me 

@skapaneas

Sort:  

watching your art and listening to the music...

if I have to be honest when I draw I do listen some music. I am usually going for some classic tunes, starting my next post I will include that to my work, since the music I listen has no loyalties it should be ok.

beautiful work with amazing detail. Some times revisiting the basics can move us further forward than we think possible.

thank you! DavVinci was going back to basics for his entire life, he barely completed any paintings compared to other painters of his time, that didn't made him any less of an artist. A man of many things or a specialized brain of one? I will choose the first, or I'll die of boredom.

this is so powerful!
In my mind, the artist who is able to make the observer feel the way he intended to, is one of THE best artists in the world.
Great job :)

thank you so much.

I saw this on facebook, my jaws drop.
Thanks for the share

flattered. thanks a lot for being a loyal fan.

awe, its all I can say! Up'ed

thanks for your support. you have my love!

damn you still can draw! amazing you are an inspiration for me. Keep it up.

I am trying to get back to it. my skills are not as they used to. thank you!!

Love your work as always....
Your loyal upvoter

thank you so much girl.

thank you so much! it is me the one to thank you all for your support.

You have a good eye for detail. :)

to be honest I always forget to wear my glasses. :)

At some point you need to stop your vacations around Greece my friend. :) thank you, I ll join you for some team fortress 2 if I get the time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44