Drawing Challenge#6 Portrait Of The Boss Baby - step by step

in #art7 years ago

Hello everyone!

I wanted to share with you my portrait drawing of The Boss Baby, which I chose as my entry for the contest #Drawingchallenge by @helene where you have to draw a portrait of a child using pencils!


You can enter the contest →HERE← & check the artwork of other artists ( The deadline for submission is Sep 30).

Medium used: 

  • Graphite Pencils (2H, B, 2B)
  • Graphite Pencil Oil Base (extra soft)
  • Charcoal Pencil
  • Cotton Buds ( q-tip ), Kneaded Eraser, Plastic Eraser, a tissue.
  • Canson Paper size A4

Now here's a step by step progress showing and explain how I drew it:

 1- First I started with drawing the basic outlines, using the 2H Graphite Pencil so that the lines won't be too dark, and I can easily erase it or simply draw above it. This step is very important in obtaining a likeness of your subject. If your outline doesn't resemble the subject, the result won't either. So take your time and get the subject features and proportions correct. (I used screenshots from the movie as a reference).


2- the Next step is drawing a base for the darkest areas using the 2B & B and for the lightest areas using the 2H,  I simply scribble it down VERY lightly and then blend it out with a tissue and a q-tip in the small parts like the hand, nose...



3- Using the Charcoal pencil I fill in the iris and carefully leaving the highlights blank to show the light reflection on the eyes. I used the q-tip to blend the edges of the lower light reflections.



4- I used 2B to draw the eyebrows and add more shading in the skin face, around the eyes, the ears. For the mouth, I used the Graphite Pencil Oil Base to give it some depth.



5- Next step, I added more details to the hair using 2B, I divided the hair to two type of lines drawing, the front part where the hair lines are long and falling down, and the back/sides parts where the hair lines are short.



6- Going down to the chemise, I filled it using 2H and blend it with a q-tip, then I added some highlights using the edge of a plastic eraser, after that I used the Graphite Pencil Oil Base for the tie parts showing under the hand, and for the darkest area of the watch blended with B Graphite Pencil using a q-tip.



7- To draw the suit I used Charcoal Pencil, and to bring up the darkest areas and features of the suit I used the Graphite Pencil Oil Base then the Kneaded Eraser for the highlights.



8- For the top of the tie, I filled it using the Charcoal Pencil. And I added more shade in the hand using 2H.


9- For the other part of the suit, I used Charcoal Pencil for the darkest areas and 2B for the highlights and I blended them using a q-tip. And I used 2H to give the Baby Boss some shadow to show some space between him and the background.

 


10- And Voila! Finally for the signature I used the Graphite Pencil Oil Base.


I hope you'll like it and why not try to draw it, take this one as a reference and draw your own follow the steps above or do it in your style ;) and feel free to share with me your drawing here in the comments below. 


Follow me, Upvote, Resteem it if you like it, and thank you very much for your support ;)

Peace.

Sort:  

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.69 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @kid4life. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Thank you very much @kid4life I really appreciate your support brother ;)

:))

No prob!

Stay awesome!

great concept to draw baby boss :) deserved an upvote, keep it up you have the talent.. you can also check my entry if you like https://steemit.com/drawingchallenge/@julstamban/ujhxr-drawing-challenge-6-entry-2-or-trafalgar-law-of-one-piece-child-with-amber-lead-disease

Thank you @julstamban your drawing is wonderful ;) keep up the great work and good luck ;)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks a lot @gaman for your support, I really appreciate it ;)

Congratulations @silentsoularts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That was so nice and cute. :)

Thank you @zararina I appreciate your support ;)

wow! i love it! i follow you btw :D

Thank you very much @chemene for your support :)

wow..great. you are a good in drawing..keep it up @silentsoularts ..Upvoted👍

Thank you very much @leslyfay ;)

You're welcome @silentsoularts 😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39