"To the Moon!" - How the art of @mikkolyytinen helps Steemit grow

in #art7 years ago

IMG_6944_Fotor.jpg

Dear Art-Collectors,

one of the coolest things about Steemit for me is the possibility to get to know so many talented artists. One of my favorites is the Finnish artist @mikkolyytinen

When I saw, that he was auctioning two of his rare prints on Steemit, I instantly felt the urge to bid on them.

IMG_6794_Fotor.jpg
Mikko Lyytinen , C-girl(yellow/black), etching and aquatint, 2006

This is what @mikkolyytinen said about his works:

These are very early works from when i was just taking my first steps on a journey to become a professional artist. I never was much into printmaking and I've done very little of it overall so these are something of a curiosity, yet one of the better ones i think. Unnumbered for some rebellious reason probably, but there were very few made -five or six perhaps.

Source

I was more than happy, that Mikko agreed to sell those prints to me, although the auction had been canceled later on.

Bought with Steem-Dollars

So I payed him with nothing else but SBDs, which I had earned on the platform. A few days later, I received those beautiful works in my mailbox.

He also sent me this beautiful postcard showing one of his works named "Pyhätön", which translates to "sanctuary" regarding google-translate.

I had to watch very closely to see the extra info on the card:


I have to admit, that I never checked Mikko's profile outside Steemit before. But I definitely suggest checking out his homepage, facebook, twitter and youtube-channel!

Mikko's giveaway month


That's not the end of the story:

A few days after I bought the C-girl prints from @mikkolyytinen, he celebrated his first year on steemit by giving away an artwork for free every day of August.

At the 8th day of his anniversary month he offered this amazing drawing from a series called "Growth". He said:

This one is one of my favourites and it relates to series i called "Growths". I made it back in the institute of fine arts in 2010. Growth is a theme that continues in my work to this day.
Source

I cannot express, how lucky and honoured I felt, that I've won this outstanding artwork!

Thank you so much Mikko! - And thank you Steemit for bringing us together!


Here is a larger Version of the drawing:

As I'm trying to grow every day and expand my network of likeminded people on Steemit, this work is kind of a symbol for what's possible.


Personally Steemit really helped me seeing myself as an artist. Something, that I denied for many, many years.


Mikko explained his interest in growth like this:

Growth is a fascinating thing for me, it's not necessarily good or bad. I like to watch nature and human constructs, technology develop and so on. I suppose spiritual growth is to be mentioned. My interest in meditation and such things comes and goes, like many other things. I think it is time to give this one away.
Source

Bonus gift


Believe it or not, Mikko even sent me this stunning bonus artwork.

How cool is that?


I will really have to look for a cool frame for this and then invite all my friends. I'd like to show them, why Steemit is awesome. Mostly because of all those amazing people here.

Thanks again Mikko for being one of them!


P.S.: I'm going to share the liquid rewards of this post with @mikkolyytinen

Thanks for watching!

@shortcut
Sort:  

Wow,. thank you so much @shortcut. It is wonderful to see the pieces framed and in good home.

Yes, and it's wonderful how your works create meanings and moods every time I look at them ;-)

@mikkolyytinen is a great artist and the having a good spirit and heart. His work is far beyond the level we generally see here on steemit. We should support him and encourage his art. Steemit will really give him a nice exposure.

Couldn't agree more!

Wonderful pictures

I second that!

I like them too - very expressing!

beim vorletzten Bild frage ich mich ob es Hand oder zähne sind.... Upvoted, danke für das Bild :-)

Ja, das Bild ruft einige Assoziationen hervor. Danke für deinen Vote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84