Tattoos do not make you a criminal

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Image credit:  Darienne Skye Aubery

Today I had a class discussion with my students.  I asked them what they were going to do next year when they are finished with school.  (I usually start asking these type of questions at this stage of the year,  to make students think a little about their future.) 

At such a young age, the mostly 17-year old's still do not have a clue what to do with their future.  Although I believe that planning and dreaming about your future helps, I believe that we are all on a journey and we must just go with the flow. No one knows what life can bring, but it is always good to have a little bit of guidance from your parents and teachers.  

Although most of the class could not answer me, this one incredible talented student immediately said that she wanted to be a tattoo artist.  I was quite shocked as she is an incredibly talented artist, and I could not believe that she would even consider doing that. She told me that ever since she was a little girl, she always got into trouble for drawing ON her friends, and not for drawing on the tables at school.  

I tried to convince her that it would be a waste of her talent.  I told her about France and all the other opportunities she had, and that she could become a world famous artist.  She has raw talent and with no training she is one of the best artists I have ever seen.  

After class I started thinking why it upset me so much that she wanted to be a tattoo artist.  I do not like tattoos. (I am one of those judgemental teachers it seems that wants to push someone into the direction that I believe they should go.) I thought about it for a while and decided that I was going to write about it today, to see if I can make some sense out of my thoughts.  

I asked her to send me some of her pictures and I am totally amazed.  I realized today that this is real ART.  And it does not matter if it goes on a wall, or on someone's leg or arm, this is true ART.  

I would like to share some of her drawings and paintings with you.  

    

 Image credit:  Darienne Skye Aubery                     A bear on a feather

    

Lady in a bottle                                                            Look at this detail

   

                  All the sketches are small in comparison with a pen

     

Darienne Skye Aubery, you are a brilliant tattoo artist, and today I realized that anyone can be happy doing whatever they want to do. Darienne is a calm and peaceful person, give her a brush and she is happy.  

Go paint your bodies Dari, with such a talent (and if I ever change my mind about tattoos) 

I would even let you draw on me!   

 I am totally up for a good debate and if you don't agree with me on  posts, then feel free to contact me and we can discuss your opinion.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. If you like my posts please follow me on @serioustruth Together we can change the world. Feel free to share or promote my posts. I want to make a difference to the way people think. 

  ❤Keep on steeming! ❤ 

Sort:  

I can't wait for my first tattoo at 45. But saving up, they are expensive! Darienne's work is amazing.

She is a wonderful artist! I will use her sketches in my future posts.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49