Inktank #71

in #art6 years ago

smaller_logo.png

Here's three recent art posts I've enjoyed. More info on why I'm doing this in my not-yet-written #introduceyourself post.

In the meantime, just know that I'm doing this to both improve my life by learning to better appreciate art and to encourage good visual art here by promoting my 3 recent favorite pieces and sponsoring one of them for a share in #steembasicincome.


Mermaid Monday contest week 19 "Sci-fi Mermaids"

by @akarantain

My comment

This is pretty gorgeous. I particularly like the great use of perspective on her hands and the choice to give her medusa-like hair, but use tentacles instead of snakes or eels. Really nicely creative. The coloring is very pretty too, but I also think the uncolored line art is quite nice.


Chibi Giselle

by @scrawly

My comment

Cute, simple, and there is a definite mild art nouveau vibe too it, even if I always have trouble spelling that. If you're intersted in vector art, I say give it a try - I'm fairly decent at simple vector stuff and I'm a terrible artist. It'd be neat to see what you could do with Inkscape.


Seller of Dreams

by @scrawly

My comment

Artistically, she is pleasing like so many of your drawings. The contrast between bold outlines and delicate shading is very appealing, and the texture of the paper really works with the theme. What put this over the top for me was the story that went along with it, lovely stuff.


And the favorite is...

I try very hard to only look at the picture and not the username when I'm picking out my three pieces for these posts. I guess I'm doing ok, since I didn't even realize I'd picked two pieces by @scrawly until writing it up. While both pieces are excellent, the seller-of-dreams piece is not only pleasing aestheically and technically, but also comes with a nice little story. Congrats on a share of @steembasicincome.

Sort:  

Ohhh I'm very honoured to be featured twice in your review. And the fact that you pick your selection only by looking at the picture and not the username, that touches my heart. Thank you <3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61