I present to you the art book I have been working on for 6 months

in #art7 years ago (edited)

thumb.jpg

This is a steemit exclusive world premiere. You are the very first to read this book!

17880741_10212712682520212_8571431777471431580_o.jpg

Sake and Cigarettes is the name of the book. As a reference to the cult classic movie Coffee and Cigarettes. The characters in my book are sitting in an Izakaya, a japanese food bar.

How does creating the same scene again and again in different techniques change the context for how we read text? That's what I wanted to find out with this art book. I wrote the text on my laptop blindly. Trying to write a conversation between two people without thinking about what I was writing. It is all a stream of consciousness.

I think the art book turned out really interesting. I will be describing the technique I used for each image.

So without further ado, please enjoy my art book.


To make the cover for the book I programmed a tool to combine all the pages from the book into one. You can read more about the tool in my steemit post
01.jpg

The first page in the book is programmed with distance functions, a technique where you determine which pixels should be colored based on the individual pixel's distance to a mathematically defined object. You can see the full source code on shadertoy
0.png

Next we have a pixel art version. I made this in an open source software called aseprite
1.png

This one was drawn with a 2B pencil.
2.png

This one was drawn with color markers.
3.png

Here I arranged and tweaked paper clips.
4.png

This one was sculpted and rendered in zbrush which is a 3D sculpting software.
5.png

Medium sized black marker.
6.png

Shaving cream on my chest.
7.png

Another version of my shader entry, this one is actually animated as you can check out here
8.png

This one was modeled, rigged and rendered in blender, a open source 3D suite.
9.png

This one was made by making a cutout shape of the characters and using it as a negative stencil while applying watercolor paint.
10.png

This is melted sugar. I used a Crème brûlée burner to melt the sugar into the correct shapes and assembled them in front of my fireplace for a more dramatic light. Which also melted the figures while I was taking photos of them.
11.png

I've had this obsession with ascii art lately, where I constantly type them out whenever I get the chance. This was completely hand written in sublime text.
12.png

This is black cutout of the characters on a red backdrop which is actually from the cover of the bølgekraft fanzine I posted here on steemit.
13.png

This was made in play-doh. With a plant in the background.
14.png

Straight up blue watercolor on paper.
15.png

I made this one by hanging a piece of cellophane paper (transparent) on the glass wall of one of our meeting rooms. Then I drew on it with a whiteboard marker, using the holes in the glass wall decal as eyes.
16.png

This is a spectogram analysis of a sound file. I created the sound file with a sound painting software called coagula. You can listen to the sound here
17.png

Drawing the silhouettes as patterns using medium sized black marker.
18.png

This is actually a microscope capture of some very tiny dots I drew on paper with a pressure pencil. The real size is approximately 1 mm (0.0393701 inches).
19.png

This is the original concept drawing of the characters. Made with a blue bic ball point pen.
20.png

Sugar in an aluminium pan. Which was later on melted to become one of the earlier pages in this book.
21.png

I spray painted this on a legal wall in Oslo. It is pretty big, around 2 meters tall and 4 meters wide. That day was really freezing weather and I didn't have gloves on, so it was a real pain to finish this piece. However it was a really fun experience afterwards.
22.png

This from my shower. I used the condense on the shower wall and drew the characters with my fingers.
23.png

Blue bic ball point pen. Drawing the characters with text only.
24.png

This was made by threading glass beads on fishing line.
25.png

A2 paper which I burned with my Crème brûlée burner.
26.png

In Oslo there is this shop named outland, there they sell lego by the weight. So you can pick whichever lego pieces you need.
27.png

This was made with blowing markers. Almost hands free. I made most of the painting by holding the marker in my mouth, blowing and moving my body in order to create what I needed.
28.png

Omelette.
29.png

I made these sculptures in snow. See the progress of how I built them in my steemit post.
30.png

Paper models painted with colored brush markers.
31.png

Speedpainting I made in photoshop. Time: 12 min 54 sec.
32.png

I recently went to japan. When I came back I had a lot of these 1 yen coins. So I arranged them like this.
33.png

Drawn with colored wax crayons.
34.png

I sewed the plushies on a sewing machine, using leftover textiles from the people who worked at the sewing studio. Then I filled the plushies with cotton.
35.png

The backside of the book is made with the same tool as I used for the front side. The website on the back is not yet launched, but will be in the beginning of june.
74.jpg


If you're interested in buying a physical copy of the book, I will be accepting STEEM and SBD. Every book is glued by hand and numbered. I will not make more than 30 books, so this is your chance to get your hands on this limited artwork. I'm selling the book for the equivalent of 30 USD + shipping.

Sort:  

This is one of the best steemit-posts ever made!! This is what steemit is FOR!

Thank you! Yes, I also believe this is what steemit should be used for!

Cool artwork, congrats for making it happen and thanks for your detailed description of the process. Resteemed!

Thank you, I am happy that you enjoyed it :)

Really, amazing work!

Thanks, I really appreciate that!

h1sprywtg
Hello @rohtie

You have been upvoted and resteemed by @art-trail as one of the top artistic picks of the day. Your post will be submitted to be considered by the SteemTrail community for their upvote and to earn Trail Coin.

For more information about joining the Art-Trail and SteemTrail community, join us on discord.

great job! congratulations :)

Thank you very much, it was very interesting to work with :)

That´s is a awesome work! All a piece of art! I like so much. You win my upvote and resteem. Thanks for share you work!

Glad you liked it! Thank you :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

upvote button pleaseee more powerrrrr for @rohtie..!! definitely upvoted and followed

Thanks a lot for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12