Musings, poetry and prose, No. 3 (a steemit-only original)(graphic-art)

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Imgur

(original graphic art by robyneggs)

Existential High - Write 3

Once upon a time

There I sat trying to rhyme

Once upon a midnight scary

I sat alone whimpering Leary...

put on all my favorite clothes

check out my watch and shoes

I am going out - not going in

once I check how I am doing inside

within these walls

once were fearsome ears...

Is that my headphones?

Is that my mic?

Is that me, standing alone

Poking up out of the ice?

-

whispers

they are floating gently past

how'm I doin' Sam?

I asked him at last

as the sun sits over the moon

glistening on the surface, like glass...

-

like a seizure

I am snagged by you

like a root

I am bound by you

hold me under

under the ground

and please me

with my hands bound...

-

lull

there's a lull on the path

and as I stop to wait to see

it occurs to me

I enjoy eccentricity...

Imgur

(original graphic art by robyneggs)

2

Ok, now here I stand:

bold, uplifting the hopes and wishes

and bottled dreams, pickled in essence

offering them up to you...

where am I now, where are you?

drags you down

what you have lost

jump--

down into the fiery waters of my body,

as if to accost

home is where you will always go back

it sits there

staring--

calling you back

calling you away from here

the hills are rising

you make your way

speaking--

out towards your self, falling

falling away...

Imgur

(original graphic art by robyneggs)

3

once, up in the sky

there sat a wish

a want

a campaign from heaven--

once there I rise

I totally drive

I fly--

into heaven...

I had a want, once

and once I had a wish

to want--

a wish to want heaven...

where am I, without him?

where am I when I am not with him?

I am left behind, lost at sea

a torrential storm, brewing in the East

will soon catch up with me

wash me away--

wash me out to sea

for where is he?

where is he when he is not here with me?

he sits in one spot and I just go there

wherever he is, I am there

so catch me up in a storm and wash me away

to where he is as long as long as can be...

I will be there with him

I will be dead next to him

and we will be dead, forever more, in our heads

as long as I can never have her...

-

I have been jumped

Been given a jump-start

But am I so upstart?

I would not know...

where has all the casserole gone?

where has the cast been

but playing roles--

they are playing for their souls...

soul-picking

Imgur

(original graphic art by robyneggs)

4

I am picking and choosing

as though I have existed

though we both know I am sold...

it gets my head high

to smoke the resin paper

I shave my head bald

when I use the razor-

the razor resin paper...

I need to get my head high in the morning...

-

as I crack my breastbone out

everything that I need

when there is nothing left to see

everything comes to me

where would I be, if I was not here?

I have become different, lighter

as if another piece of rocket fell away

and all he wants is attention

as he walks away

-

I crack my back into place

the flow of blood increases

and everything that I see

makes me believe that I am here

that I can see what I need...

once gone, will you come back to me?

I need to hear your spirit beyond me

I need to see him when there is nothing left to see...

-

there you were last night

obscure, peaceful

at least that is how you looked through the mirror

through the mirror to the end of the bar

that is how you looked at me

absconding; rivaled...

END

Past Musings:

No. 2 & No. 1

(tonight's 125 line-series of musings is dedicated to @girlbeforemirror)


Follow me @robyneggs for more enlightening content, daily!


Imgur

Photo by @nebcat

Robyn Eggs Website

Facebook

steemit.chat.com/ - robyn.eggs

leave all comments below the eggs on toast, please...

RobynEggs Logo

Sort:  

Powerful musings, they paint a vivid picture. The artwork makes a great addition. I really liked this.

Likes both your poetry and artwork, excellent combination.

Well done. Looks like you are getting more attention:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74