New Watch Mechanism & Malachite Pendant

in #art6 years ago


My first attempt at making a gif, well pleased!

Hello,

I've had a bit of a break from Steemit this week, lots going on with work and also its bloody freezing in the England at the moment so after being outside all day I just want to eat and hide in bed.

With that said I have managed to get this beauty finished.


I'm undecided on whether copper looks best with the watch mechanism here. I need to get some more Silver wire ordered to try some with that and compare.
I could look at watch mechanisms all day. They are insanely detailed pieces of art in themselves. Put together by hand by someone clearly very patient with a steady hand! You can see the intricacies and precision in the gif above.

The Malachite I used is quite highly polished so photos were a bit difficult.

In related news, I recently won just a few more watch mechanism off ebay for a bargain price. A few more is an understatement, 64 to be exact! Looking forward to making all sorts with these. Theres a few matching pairs so earrings are on the cards and more pendants.

Look at them, in all their coggy glory!!

Sort:  

How do I get one of those???

I need one.

Hey man thanks for the feature on your post! This one's available on my Etsy here! https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/583499798/watch-mechanism-malachite-copper-wire
Alternatively I'd be happy to accept the steem equivalent if you'd prefer. You can email me on [email protected] if you want to speak privately or just get back on here.thanks

This has received an upvote from the @minnow-aid subscription service.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Great piece of jewelry! I used to make steampunk jewelry and sell them on Etsy. If you can keep the bottom left watch movement where the top still spins on a piece of jewelry, it will sell for much higher prices.

I'm still sitting on several hundred watch movements....Lol. Try to also get high end movements like Waltham, Elgin, Hamilton, etc. They will bring higher prices as well. I posted a macrophotography shot of some of my Waltmams awhile back on my blog.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the tips! I made some really basic bits out of some years ago and they sold really quick then i kinda just forgot about them and moved onto stones/minerals. Back on it now.
Theres some real trash in the steampunk market its really disappointing

I totally agree. My niche was cufflinks, but I also made rings, necklaces, bracelets, and earrings. I also made lamps out of antique cameras and cigar boxes. It became way too commercialized and I stepped away from it. Your creations are beautiful!

ah thankyou very much! have you got a link to any of your stuff? thats exactly how i felt about it. the very worst for me was seeing 'cogs' for sale that were actually made of plastic, so unnecessary and they looked worse than the real thing

He's a few old pics.
20150727_101306.jpg

Screenshot_2015-10-20-11-09-45.png

IMG_20150921_193442.jpg

Bravissimo
Questa è arte.

Those are gorgeous! And I think the copper and malachite "belong" together, just beautiful. Are you doing something like that with all of them?

yeh for sure! i never really thought about it till recently but all the copper based minerals seem to work great with the refined wire aesthetically. Chrysocolla, malachite, turquoise, theres so many.
Im going to try some more simple designs with some of them, perhaps earrings next

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You got a 22.22% upvote from @ebargains courtesy of @robali123!

Awesome! I love the contrasting mechanical and organic components.

thanks,
i get a lot of inspiration from the work of H.R Giger. worth looking him up if you dont know already!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48