๐Ÿ”Ž "Zoom in" - a closer look at the "Divina Commedia"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art โ€ข 6 years ago

So far, in the "zoom in" series, I gave you a closer look at some of my larger oil paintings on canvas. They are usually pretty big and therefore often contain a lot of details, making them quite suitable for that.

Today I would like to present a work in graphite pencil on glass. When I finished the drawing back then and before I started the next step of coloring it, I actually scanned it in. Because of the size of 29x 100 cm it took several steps to do it and then combine all the individual scans into one large picture... only to split them up again now, to present some of the more interesting details...

Patience please, large files ahead!

zeichnung_1.jpg

click โ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ”Ž

The painting is about Dante's Divine Comedy and shows several parts of his "universe". The top part represents "Paradiso". Dante always talks about circles, that's why I chose them as a main element, even for Beatrice's hair.

The coat like element in the middle also works as the entrance to the underworld:

zeichnung_2.jpg

click โ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ”Ž

Finally we get to "Inferno" at the bottom

zeichnung_3.jpg

click โ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ”Ž


And finally as a whole again:

zeichnung_4.jpg



I enjoy reading your comments!

โค
If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on sola

Sort: ย 

You details are magical.

Her circular hair, before I read your description of Dante' inspiration, made me think they were like fractals like the magical element she is staring into (I always make a story first thing I see a piece of art)

And of course reading your inspiration of Dante only makes it all the more rich and interesting. This one is also ripe for fun play with digital colour ;)

Wonderful amazing detail, they say God is in the details, he must be on your shoulder when you are drawing.

I absolutely love your stories. Always a real highlight. Haha interesting saying... in Germany we say, the devil is in the detail. But maybe that refers to a different context ;-)

Love all your little details they make the piece so fun to keep looking at.

Thank you very much, glad you are enjoying this :-)

Amazing work. I think my favorite part is with the circle elements. The way you've tied them together are magical. Superb details and values. Love it!

Cheers,
Dm7

Many thanks for your kind compliments. Glad you like it!

Die DETAILS sind ja mal wieder HAMMER - sehr gut gelungen , Holla ... :-)

Danke sehr, freut mich :-)

haven't heard from you in ages, lol - now I found this on Peter's wall.
upvoted, resteemed
shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/986243276004044800
I may have asked this already: are you using Stabilo Glass Marking pencils? I had some but that was long ago.

Well... ahm... ok, I admit it... it was my bikes fault... and the good weather ;-)

yeah, the weather will get even better. I will pry myself away from this devil machine and do something more constructive - got lots of work in the studio, but also need to rediscover the outdoors ....

Great. I wish I had a metal band to order a cover artwork in this kind...

Hope it would be a cover for a vinyl album then ;-)

Of course for a vinyl album! ;) CD cover size is much to small for good artworks

Another winner!

Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Wow! Your attention to detail is top notch. Monochrome is my style too, I use pencils though. Seeing it done this perfectly with oils is something I can't comprehend. This is height of it!

Thank you for the compliment. Looks like my text isn't really clear on this, but the drawing is in graphite pencil too. But I think one can work just as detailed in oil as well.

Oh, I misread your opening line. Thanks for pointing that out.

I love this... so I can't say more about it.

And an artist can't ever get enough of that. Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š

Fantastic! What an amazing artist you are. I wish I had your talent. I'm not so good at drawing so I try to get creative with photography instead. I have a long way to go yet and a lot of learning to do. I find it inspiring to see the work of talented artists like yourself. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you so much, for your kind comment. I really appreciate your compliment. And remember, everyone has a talent for something and I'm sure you are good at something, that I can't even begin to dream about :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05