😘 "The Frog King" - The Fairytale with a famous Kiss!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Fairytales are an important part of Germany's cultural heritage and I'm sure it would be hard, to find anyone there who has never heard of Hansel and Gretel and other stories by the Brothers Grimm. Another famous one is „The Frog King“, illustrating the age old desire to find Mr. Right… or Ms. Right… depending on the perspective 😉

The essential part is of course the kiss:

frok-01.jpg


I painted this back in 1988 in graphite pencil, watercolors and acrylics on reverse side of glass, and it is likely my most successful painting to date. Several people wanted it, but in the end it became part of my sisters private collection... guess she was closest to the source!


frok-02.jpg


Do you have a favorite fairytale?


I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-1b_01.jpg
appendix-1b_02.jpgappendix-1b_03.jpgappendix-1b_04.jpgappendix-1b_05.jpg


pfeil-1-200x88.jpg

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by #ReinhardSchmid of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg



Please support Art For a Little Brave Heart

aflbh.jpg

Sort:  

Ah, so beautiful. I've always been a huge fan of Grimms tales, Little Red Ridinghood being my favorites. My mother promised to make me a red wool cape if I bring her the fabric.

On a unrelated note, have I mentioned that I shower your Hinderglas work to my sister? She was very intrigued by it and said she would ask one of her teachers about it.

No surprise that you like Little Red Ridinghood... with the wolf and all 😉 Hm.. wonder if we might see a "red cape" post some time soon..

No, I don't remember you telling me about showing my Hinterglas work to your sister.. will be interesting what her teachers might have to say about it. Although Hinterglas is commonly known, my twist to it is pretty much unique.

On another unrelated note... I'm renovating a more than 300 year old house and hopefully in a year (or two) my bigger studio will be finished.. I might be doing some workshops then (hint hint 😉)

Haven't bought the fabric yet, so might be a while :'D

OOhhh, would you PLEASE so us (read: ME!) the house!? and progress photos!!?

Another unrelated note: how glad am I that Steemit is working, upvotes and comments going through with the first try!

Maybe you'll find something nice in Lisbon!

The house?? 😱 Oh god no... was a ruin when we bought it. Maybe I'll show some of the more finished areas... eventually...

Ok.. one... for you 😘

DSC_0846-Gr.JPG

Fixing an old window... the room will be my "summer studio"

Haha and yesss! Almost no longer used to everything working so smoothly!! 🤞

I love old houses! I want to see more, it doesn’t matter that it’s in ruins, makes it all the more interesting.

Wow... looks like you are getting up early! Did the storm hit you too in Finland? First thing I did today was to check if the roof was still there in one piece...

Have a few pics on my fb account. Not that I spend much time there, but you can share things with a select group. Do you have an account there? Maybe you'd like to be (fb) friends..

Good morning! :) This is not really that early for me, I get up 4.45am on most days for work. No storms here, not that I know of at least.

Sorry, I don't use facebook.

4.45am for work??? OK, I'll report that to Amnesty International!!

Yeah, fb sucks anyways. Its going to be interesting how long they will keep their position in the market.

Storm was pretty rough, even for us here in the south. Northern Germany got hit pretty bad, that's why I was wondering how it was for you. How far are you from the coast?

Yeah, i bet it is always nice to have source by your side :)

Ok, so the kiss is the culmination and the peak of the story :) I just wonder why did she close the eyes before kissing the frog and the frog just did the opposite. Very "light" look and i love that vignetting towards the edges. And much more pastel tones than usual. Greenish froggish :) Nicely done!

Keen observation! Of course no detail stays hidden from your professional eye.

Such an exquisite drawing. Lovely connection can be felt between the princess and the frog. The eyes and the lips ~ And the beautiful subtlty of the white ball of energy between them. Love the graphite pencil and soft watercolour. Beautiful. 🦋

Cordial thanks for your beautiful comment 🌼

I love this drawing/painting of the Froschkönig, even more when I learned that it is drawn on glass ...but how? There must be some special surface preparation to be able to draw with graphite. I am well aware of traditional glass paintings "Hinterglasmalerei" and I never liked the pasty look but this is intricate, transparent and simply delightful.

Its exactly that look you mention, which I never liked at Hinterglasmalerei and I always wanted to overcome that. Took me many years of trial and erroro and lots of experimenting. Even today, every painting is still a challenge. Some transperency and debth is what I want to achieve with this otherwise very interesting technique. Thank you for liking it.

Interesting blog you have!

So lovely, and on glass, that is amazing.

Thank you! I see your blog really grew nicely, will have to come back tonight after I'm finished painting!

That's a really neat image! Brings back memories from past relationships!

So you turned into a price!! 🤴

Lovely as always, the closeup of the lips ready to kiss! The worst ending to the fairytale is when you kiss the frog and he stays a frog haha
Lovely day to you !

Thank you for liking it. Haha.. yes, that happens and would be disappointing for sure 🐸... even worse, if the princess turns into a frog too!

Great day for you too!

I love fairytales but I don’t exactly have a favorite. That frog is quite the charmer with those glossy eyes and those puckered up lips!

Glad you like my frog. When I drew it, I just imagined how I would feel at that moment 😍

Many thanks, Sir! As I can see from your own posts, you are obviously a man of exquisite taste :-)

Wonderful imagery! Fairytales are a great source of inspiration, aren't they? I hope to make more work inspired by them too. And inspired by your work also!

Hope you're having a great weekend.

Thank you... yes, always liked fairytales. Still remember that huge book my grandmother had. Was very inspirational indeed :-)

Great weekend for you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77